Home Formula 3Euroformula Urrutia wins the second Silverstone race in F3 Open

Urrutia wins the second Silverstone race in F3 Open

by Gruz David
Santiago Urrutia

Photo: F3 Open/Fotospeedy

Uruguayan Santiago Urrutia celebrated his second victory in F3 Open in race two at Silverstone, making the championship a four-way battle with the difference between the series leader Sandy Stuvik and fourth Nelson Mason is only 32 points with six races to go.

The 16-year-old Urrutia started from the pole position alongside his teammate Stuvik. The two RP Motorsport drivers spent the race very close to each other, however, Stuvik never risked his valuable position with making a move, so they finished the race in the same order.

After winning the first race, Ed Jones celebrated another podium finish at Silverstone. The biggest loser of the race is Mason, who was forced to retire from the fourth position as Hector Hurst caused an accident.

Alex Toril ended the race in another strong fourth position, Alexandre Cougnaud finished fifth. The second part of the top ten contained Yarin Stern, Alexey Chuklin, Emil Bernstorff, Vicky Piria and Mario Marasca.?Richard Gonda took his fifth Copa class win with Cameron Twynham second and Gerardo Nieto third.

Race two saw a huge accident between Saud Al Faisal and Tommaso Menchini. The Italian hit the RP Motorsport driver’s car, which flipped in the air. Thankfully, Al Faisal was able to walk away from his car.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport 29:34.583
2 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport + 0.345
3 Ed Jones Team West-Tec +?9.163
4 Alex Toril RP Motorsport +?13.274
5 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +?20.289
6 Yarin Stern EmillioDeVillota +?22.950
7 Alexey Chuklin EmillioDeVillota +?25.532
8 Emil Bernstorff Team West-Tec +?25.800
9 Vicky Piria BVM +?26.449
10 Mario Marasca BVM +?27.307
11 Richard Gonda Drivex School +?31.135
12 Valeria Carballo Campos Racing +?35.961
13 Andr?s Saravia EmillioDeVillota +?38.088
14 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +?39.252
15 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +?45.230
16 Che One Lim EmillioDeVillota +?47.285
17 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +?52.660
18 Trino Rojas RP Motorsport +?57.525
19 Lorenzo Paggi Corbetta Competizioni +?58.892
20 Igor Urien EmillioDeVillota +?58.281
21 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing +?1:00.995
22 Liam Venter Team West-Tec +?1:02.257
23 Luca Orlandi Team West-Tec +?1:13.444
24 Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +?1:15.235
25 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +?1:24.500
Not classified
Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Competizioni +?7 Laps
Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +?8 Laps
Artur Janosz Campos Racing +?9 Laps
Nelson Mason Team West-Tec +?10 Laps
Hector Hurst EmillioDeVillota +?11 Laps
Nicholas Pohler DAV Racing +?14 Laps