Home Formula 3GB3 Ulysse De Pauw fourth different winner of British F3’s Snetterton round

Ulysse De Pauw fourth different winner of British F3’s Snetterton round

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Douglas Motorsport’s Ulysse De Pauw became the fourth different race winner of the BRDC British Formula 3 weekend at Snetterton, heading Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick in the rain.

De Pauw started second on the grid alongside Sunday morning’s winner Louis Foster. The grid was determined by the two fastest laps set in the second race held on Saturday, which was the least wet of of a rain-hit weekend.

The 20-minute Sunday afternoon race started behind the safety car for two laps, and Foster’s lead was shortlived when action began as he skidded off at the Justin Wilson Hairpin and dropped to seventh.

This left De Pauw and race one winner Frederick out front, and the pair quickly established a sizeable gap to championship leader Kush Maini in third.

Frederick kept within a couple of seconds of De Pauw but could not challenge for the win.

His Carlin team-mate Nazim Azman started seventh but came out on top of a good scrap for the final podium place, one of several drivers to make their way past Hitech GP driver Maini through the race after a strong opening lap that helped him move up a few positions.

Hillspeed’s Oliver Clarke tried to snatch third place off him while also interlocked in a battle with Foster, and they finished right behind Azman.

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Josh Skelton was initially in the podium scrap, but a few trips to the grass meant he had to settle for sixth.

Maini finished half a minute behind De Pauw and Frederick in seventh, and has had his points lead slashed by the latter.

Lanan Racing’s Piers Prior ended up eighth, and his team-mate Bart Horsten prevailed in a late battle with Hitech’s Reece Ushijima for ninth.

The third Lanan-run car, driven by Joshua Mason, was the only retirement during the nine-lap race after going off track early on.

Race results (9 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport 21m37.050s
2 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +0.896s
3 Nazim Azman Carlin +14.924s
4 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +15.413s
5 Louis Foster Double R Racing +15.535s
6 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +24.909s
7 Kush Maini Hitech GP +31.680s
8 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +34.092s
9 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +36.765s
10 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +39.417s
11 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +39.581s
12 Carter Williams JHR Developments +40.003s
13 Alex Fores Chris Dittmann Racing +40.330s
14 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +40.756s
15 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +41.685s
16 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +42.521s
17 Max Marzorati JHR Developments +49.794s
Ret Joshua Mason Lanan Racing
Fastest lap: Frederick, 2m08.163s

Championship standings
1 Maini 349   2 Frederick 340   3 Foster 328   4 De Pauw 317   5 Azman 278   6 Skelton 256   7 Clarke 220   8 Chaimongkol 215   9 Horsten 213   10 Kiern Jewiss 211