Home Formula 4Italian F4 Ugochukwu takes dominant Imola win in Italian F4 race two

Ugochukwu takes dominant Imola win in Italian F4 race two

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: ACI Sport

McLaren junior Ugo Ugochukwu cruised to a comfortable win in the second Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Imola.

The Prema driver made a perfect getaway after an early safety car period, rapidly extending his lead over team-mate Arvid Lindblad to over three seconds. He was then able to control the gap over the Red Bull junior to the finish.

Ugochukwu’s speed advantage was such that his fastest lap of the race was almost half a second quicker than any other driver managed.

Lindblad was tailed home by Zachary David for US Racing, taking second by just 0.65s at the flag.

Ugochukwu had to recover from a poor start which cost him the early lead as the fast-starting Kacper Sztuka, the winner of the opening race, stormed ahead into Tamburello on lap one.

However, Ugochukwu pulled off a lovely move to pass the US Racing driver around the outside entering Villeneuve before holding on to take the apex and pull away.

This allowed Lindblad to immediately follow him through into second at the next corner, Tosa.

Prema’s Tuukka Taponen was trying to make up places after a problematic qualifying, but clipped Gianmarco Pradel into the gravel at Tamburello as they battled for ninth, bringing out the safety car.

David and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ivan Domingues relegated Sztuka to fifth, but the Pole was soon dropping through the field and he was forced back to the pits to retire.

In the closing stages, the most entertaining battle was between Alfio Spina and Taponen for fifth, with the Ferrari junior right on the BVM Racing driver’s tail but unable to find a way through.

VAR’s Matheus Ferreira put in a storming drive from the back of the grid to get up to 12th place, but then became stuck behind Prema’s Aurelia Nobels.

The unfortunate Akshay Bohra was pushed into the pits from his fourth-place grid position on the dummy grid. The US Racing driver was able to join the race but was too far down to make any impression, finishing in 19th.

Race result (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 28m05.370s
2 Arvid Lindblad Prema +3.422s
3 Zachary David US Racing +4.073s
4 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing +5.402s
5 Alfio Spina BVM Racing +7.535s
6 Tuukka Taponen Prema +7.882s
7 Valentin Klus PHM Racing +13.056s
8 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema +13.346s
9 Enzo Deligny AKM Motorsport +14.295s
10 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr BVM Racing +18.828s
11 Aurelia Nobels Prema +19.115s
12 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing +19.231s
13 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing +20.339s
14 Andrea Frassineti BVM Racing +20.855s
15 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing +23.461s
16 Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP +24.199s
17 Davide Larini AKM Motorsport +24.851s
18 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing +25.741s
19 Akshay Bohra US Racing +27.747s
20 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport +33.869s
21 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport +33.962s
22 Ismail Akhmed Van Amersfoort Racing +35.029s
23 Guido Luchetti Airflow Racing +39.303s
Ret Kacper Sztuka US Racing
Ret Gianmarco Pradel US Racing
Fastest lap: Badoer, 1m44.521s

Championship standings
=1 Sztuka & Ugochukwu 25   3 David 23   4 Spina 20   =5 Badoer & Lindblad 18   7 Lacorte 15   =8 Bohra & Domingues 12   10 Al Dhaheri 10