Home News Ugochukwu extends F4 UAE lead with foggy Kuwait win

Ugochukwu extends F4 UAE lead with foggy Kuwait win

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu drove through the fog to win race one of the third Formula 4 United Arab Emirates round at Kuwait Motor Town.

The McLarnen junior started on pole and led lights-to-flag, although much of the race was spent behind the safety car.

The first neutralisation came on the opening lap as Pinnacle VAR driver Kai Daryanani spunin at turn two in the thick fog that had encompassed the Kuwait circuit. There was also drama for R-ace GP’s Alexander Abkhazava who stalled on the grid and avoided being hit by anyone.

Mumbai Falcons’ James Wharton tried passing Ugochukwu before the safety car came out, and applied pressure again when racing resumed on lap four.

There was several passes following the restart, with Arvid Lindblad overtaking Zachary David for fifth. Tuukka Taponen also got ahead of David, and then passed Lindblad down the inside of the final corner. David was also able to take the same line to go onto the pit straight alongside Lindblad, but the pair then collided.

Lindblad spun and got going again at the back of the field, while David stopped his car with damage at the next corner and it led to the safety car being summoned again.

Before the race was neutralised, MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella was able to pass PHM Racing’s Noah Stromsted for third through the downhill turn 3/4/5 chicane. There was slight contact between the pair, but Rinicella then lined his car up well to go around the outside.

The next restart took place on lap eight of 11, but this time the field did not even finish the restart lap before the safety car was out again. This time it was caused by William Macintyre and Noah Lisle spinning, with Macintyre having passed Lisle for 12th under the previous restart and the latter wanting to regain the place.

Racing finally resumed again on the last lap, and Taponen went around the outside of Stromsted for fourth at turn one. Taponen then also cleared Rinicella at turn two, while Ugochukwu held off Wharton to win.

Taponen had to hold off Rinicella in a photo finish to secure third, after the latter also fell behind Stromsted but then got back ahead a few corners later.

Race results (11 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 26m24.230s
2 James Wharton Mumbai Falcons +0.290s
3 Tuukka Taponen Mumbai Falcons +1.805s
4 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +1.882s
5 Noah Stromsted PHM Racing +2.486s
6 Keanu Al Azhari Xcel Motorsport +2.951s
7 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing +3.391s
8 Kanato Le Hitech GP +4.409s
9 Hiyu Yamakoshi Pinnacle VAR +4.469s
10 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +5.091s
11 Niko Lacorte Prema +5.415s
12 Akshay Bohra PHM Racing +6.059s
13 Dion Gowda Carlin +6.880s
14 Raphael Narac R-ace GP +7.168s
15 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +7.455s
16 Federico Rifai Xcel Motorsport +7.606s
17 Rishon Rajeev Mumbai Falcons +8.092s
18 Matteo Quintarelli Yas Heat +8.761s
19 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +8.762s
20 Jakob Bergmeister PHM Racing +9.270s
21 Alexander Abkhazava R-ace GP +9.425s
22 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +10.525s
23 Flavio Olivieri Cram-Hitech GP +11.343s
24 Lena Buhler R2Race +11.566s
25 Jack Beeton Pinnacle VAR +11.841s
26 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr R-ace GP +12.328s
27 Sebastian Murray Cram-Hitech GP +13.315s
28 George Zhuravskiy Xcel Motorsport +13.623s
29 Noah Lisle Xcel Motorsport +16.717s
30 William Macintyre Hitech GP +17.479s
31 Victoria Blokhina R2Race +22.586s
32 Hamda Al Qubaisi Yas Heat +27.400s
33 Bianca Bustamante Prema +33.601s
34 Alexander Bolduev Xcel Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Emely de Heus MP Motorsport
Ret Zachary David R-ace GP
Ret Arvid Lindblad Hitech GP
Ret Kai Daryanani Pinnacle VAR
Fastest lap: Wharton, 1m55.413s

Championship standings
1 Ugochukwu 130   2 Wharton 88   3 Rinicella 86   4 Taponen 76   5 Lindblad 60   6 David 40   7 Kluss 40   8 Nael 29   9 Brando Badoer 28   10 Stromsted 28