Home Features Tuscher wins Autosport rookie award

Tuscher wins Autosport rookie award

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Two

15-year-old Formula Two wonderkid beats F1 stars and fellow junior racing aces to win Rookie of the Year at the Autosport Awards…

Matheo Tuscher was named as the surprise winner of the Rookie of the Year at the Autosport Awards in London on Sunday. The Swiss driver, who only turns 16 next week, was presented the award by Red Bull Racing boss Christian Horner.

Tuscher won the award, which was voted for by readers of Autosport.com, after seeing off competition from Formula 1 aces Romain Grosjean, Daniel Ricciardo, Jean-Eric Vergne and Charles Pic as well as fellow junior racing stars Robin Frijns, James Calado and Felix Serralles. He is the second driver from a junior series to claim the award, after Lewis Hamilton won for his GP2 title success in 2006 before claiming the award again the following year after his stunning F1 debut.

Tuscher stepped into Formula Two this year for his second season in car racing after taking the 2011 Formula Pilota China title, and stunned by taking pole position on his debut at Silverstone. He went on to claim nine podium finishes including a maiden win at Paul Ricard and another victory in the season finale at Monza as well as taking his pole position tally to four as he finished second in the final standings behind Luciano Bacheta, seven years his senior.

“When my manager called me and said I’d been nominated for an Autosport Award, I asked him ‘What’s an Autosport Award?” said Tuscher. “I went to Autosport.com and saw the other nominees, F1 drivers, IndyCar and it was just incredible. My heart is going so fast right now. It’s been an incredible season in F2 and we did a super job. Thanks to everyone that’s supported me.”

Elsewhere, Formula Renault BARC champion Scott Malvern was named British Club Driver of the Year.