Home News Tsolov leads Campos 1-2-3 in practice for Spanish F4 finale

Tsolov leads Campos 1-2-3 in practice for Spanish F4 finale

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4 / Fotocar13

Nikola Tsolov was fastest in both practice sessions for Spanish Formula 4’s final round at Barcelona.

Both sessions ran on Saturday morning, with a pre-event test session taking place the day before and being topped by MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella with a 1m46.291s lap.

That pace wasn’t matched in practice, with Tsolov’s fastest lap in FP1 being a 1m46.566s. Global Racing Service’s Daniel Mavlyutov caused an early red flag in that session, with team-mate Marcos Flack topping the times at that point.

Drivex School’s Gael Julien lowered the pace to 1m47.949s, then Campos Racing’s champion Tsolov set a 1m47.127s to go almost two thirds of a second clear.

Rinicella toppled him with a 1m47.026s lap, just as JHR Developments’ Noah Lisle served a three-minute stop-and-go penalty for track limits abuse.

Campos’s Noah Stromsted rose to the top as the pace moved into the 1m46s, and Tsolov then returned to first place by 1m46.606s lap just before yellow flags came out.  He improved on that next time by with what would ultimately be the fastest lap of practice, although Stromsted did go 0.030s faster before his lap was deleted for exceeding track limits.

There were several newcomers on track, with Sainteloc Racing adding a third car for United States F4 racer Carl Bennett, Monlau Motorsport running ADAC F4 racer Jonas Ried in its third car and Cram Motorsport revamping its line-up to run Argentia’s Francisco Soldavini and Australian F4 racer Francisco Soldavini.

Flack started FP2 on top, with Julien, Timoteusz Kucharczyk, Stromsted and Christian Ho all going fastest before Tsolov laid down a long-standing 1m47.250s benchmark.

His time in first place was prolonged by Mavlyutov causing a red flag stoppage again, and Hugh Barter usurped Tsolov with a 1m47.073s lap. Kucharczyk became the first driver in the 1m46s again, then Tsolov went quickest again by setting a 1m46.644s.

Barter, Kucharczyk and Monlau Motorsport’s Robert de Haan were the only drivers in the overall top 10 to go faster in FP2 than in FP1.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 1m46.566s 28
2 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m46.648s +0.082s 28
3 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing 1m46.686s +0.120s 29
4 Timoteusz Kucharczyk MP Motorsport 1m46.693s +0.127s 30
5 Christian Ho MP Motorsport 1m46.738s +0.172s 27
6 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing 1m46.748s +0.182s 28
7 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport 1m46.842s +0.276s 28
8 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m46.883s +0.317s 29
9 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing 1m47.015s +0.449s 29
10 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport 1m47.179s +0.613s 27
11 Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing 1m47.201s +0.635s 27
12 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport 1m47.252s +0.686s 28
13 Daniel Nogales Drivex School 1m47.298s +0.732s 31
14 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 1m47.312s +0.746s 29
15 Jonas Ried Monlau Motorsport 1m47.408s +0.842s 35
16 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones 1m47.448s +0.882s 33
17 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 1m47.470s +0.904s 27
18 Bruno del Pino Drivex School 1m47.529s +0.963s 30
19 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 1m47.602s +1.036s 30
20 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1m47.680s +1.114s 34
21 Noah Lisle JHR Developments 1m47.816s +1.250s 30
22 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 1m47.912s +1.346s 32
23 Marcos Flack GRS 1m47.913s +1.347s 27
24 Alvaro Gracia Formula de Campeones 1m47.919s +1.353s 29
25 Daniel Guinchard JHR Developments 1m47.937s +1.371s 28
26 Gael Julien Drivex School 1m47.949s +1.383s 32
27 Gianmarco Pradel Cram Motorsport 1m48.207s +1.641s 30
28 Ricardo Gracia GRS 1m48.248s +1.682s 34
29 Max Arkhangelsky Drivex School 1m48.266s +1.700s 31
30 Viktoria Blokhina Drivex School 1m48.539s +1.973s 35
31 Francisco Soldavini Cram Motorsport 1m49.163s +2.597s 28
32 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing 1m49.176s +2.610s 17
33 Carl Bennett Sainteloc Racing 1m49.933s +3.367s 33
34 Daniel Mavlyutov GRS 1m49.998s +3.432s 20