Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Tramnitz tops FREC’s pre-event test session at Spa-Francorchamps

Tramnitz tops FREC’s pre-event test session at Spa-Francorchamps

by Ida Wood

Photo: Diderik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

R-ace GP’s Tim Tramnitz was fastest by almost half a second with his final lap in the pre-event Formula Regional European Championship test session at Spa-Francorchamps.

The three-hour morning session began with almost everyone heading out on track, and it was series returnee Hadrien David who set the pace at first with a 2m17.194s lap.

After 13 minutes red flags came out, and action resumed eight minutes later. David had an advantage of 0.994 seconds over Tramnitz at the top of the timesheet at that point, but soon Marcus Amand made it an ART Grand Prix one-two by setting a 2m18.114s to move into second place just as David improved to 2m16.787s.

Moments later Tramnitz crossed the line and returned to second, 0.372s off David, while Amand was shuffled down to fifth by R-ace duo Matias Zagazta and Martinius Stenshorne.

More improvements were set 27 minutes in, with David setting a 2m16.316s, Tramnitz a 2m16.919s and MP Motorsport’s Dilano van’t Hoff posting a 2m17.121s to go third fastest.

Ten minutes later the pace was lowered again by the drivers in second to fifth, while David had remained in the pits through that time.

His advantage at the top was reduced to 0.343s by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort after 51 minutes, then Tramnitz slashed it to 0.189s despite David returning to track and setting a 2m16.217s.

Two laps later Tramnitz finally bettered David with a 2m15.880s to go fastest by 0.220s, and the first hour ended with Tramnitz on top ahead of Prema’s Rafael Camara and David.

The pace did not improve too much during the second hour, with the next benchmark being a 2m15.443s from Tramnitz while David returned to second place with a 2m15.977s.

At the start of the final hour two successive personal bests lifted Race Perfomance Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos from outside the top half of the order to fourth and then to second, 0.403s off Tramnitz.

In the final 15 minutes the track was busy again with drivers improving their pace, and Tramnitz broke into the 2m14s while Monolite Racing’s Kirill Smal surprised to become his closest rival.

Camara was not far behind in third, while Stenshorne and David had improved slightly earlier on and were demoted to fourth and fifth as the track got faster.

The order was set with three minutes left on the clock as red flags waved again and ended the session.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 2m14.548s 38
2 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing 2m15.017s +0.469s 40
3 Rafael Camara Prema 2m15.090s +0.542s 33
4 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 2m15.150s +0.602s 39
5 Hadrien David ART Grand Prix 2m15.300s +0.752s 34
6 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 2m15.355s +0.807s 30
7 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 2m15.519s +0.971s 32
8 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 2m15.552s +1.004s 33
9 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 2m15.682s +1.134s 22
10 Laurens Van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 2m15.714s +1.166s 32
11 Joshua Duerksen Arden 2m15.761s +1.213s 35
12 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 2m15.786s +1.238s 40
13 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 2m15.846s +1.298s 14
14 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 2m16.019s +1.471s 30
15 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 2m16.140s +1.592s 30
16 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 2m16.178s +1.630s 31
17 Michael Belov G4 Racing 2m16.240s +1.692s 32
18 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 2m16.291s +1.743s 21
19 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 2m16.403s +1.855s 32
20 Adam Fitzgerald R-P-M 2m16.430s +1.882s 27
21 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.467s +1.919s 30
22 Nikhil Bohra Trident 2m16.484s +1.936s 32
23 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 2m16.588s +2.040s 22
24 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m16.606s +2.058s 36
25 Tom Lebbon Arden 2m16.673s +2.125s 27
26 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.758s +2.210s 31
27 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 2m16.928s +2.380s 36
28 Alex Partyshev KIC Motorsport 2m17.275s +2.727s 36
29 Levente Revesz Arden 2m17.338s +2.790s 35
30 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 2m17.349s +2.801s 31
31 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 2m19.443s +4.895s 11
32 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing 2m34.703s +20.155s 3
33 Owen Tangavelou Trident 2m51.322s +36.774s 6
34 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing no time 0