Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Tramnitz takes third FREC pole from four rounds in Spa Q1

Tramnitz takes third FREC pole from four rounds in Spa Q1

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

R-ace GP’s Tim Tramnitz picked up his third Formula Regional European Championship pole from four rounds in the first qualifying session at Spa-Francorchamps.

Tramnitz was fastest in the second group, while Race Performance Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos topped Group A which was first on track.

All 17 cars headed out at once at the start of Group A and only Van Amersfoort Racing’s Niels Koolen thought to go out at his own pace while the rest drove around as slowly as possible in a big queue in the hope of making use of the slipstream from the cars ahead once they started their flying laps.

Koolen set the first timed lap six minutes into the quarter-hour of track action, and two-and-a-half minutes later he improved to 2m18.165s but did not remain on top as Monolite Racing’s Kirill Smal went fastest.

Many drivers were still prioritising finding a slipstream going into the final five minutes rather than clear track, with ART Grand Prix’s Laurens van Hoepen and R-ace’s points leader Martinius Stenshorne going wheel-to-wheel through a lap.

It backfired for them and they were far outside the top 10 as Prema’s Rafael Camara set a 2m16.178s to move to the top and R-ace’s Matias Zagazeta went third fastest.

VAR’s Kas Haverkort knocked 0.018 seconds off Camara’s benchmark, then Ramos went 0.402s faster than that.

Camara moved up a spot with 72s left on the clock as he got within 0.087s of Ramos, but then Ramos improved on his final lap to finish on top by 0.392s.

Many others improved when they met the chequered flag, most of them having spread out, with Arden’s Joshua Duerksen moving past Haverkort for third and Prema’s Lorenzo Fluxa rising from 13th to fourth. That became third when Duerksen’s fastest lap was deleted due to track limits abuse.

Title contender Andrea Kimi Antonelli set the pace at first in Group B, and it was Monolite’s Giovanni Maschio on top at the halfway point.

Tramnitz’s first proper flying lap not only sent him to the top but was faster than all but Ramos from Group A, and Antonelli got within 0.020s of his pace in the final five minutes.

The response from Tramnitz was a 2m15.358s, ensuring that their group would take pole, and with almost nobody improving after that it meant Tramnitz finished on top.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 2m15.358s
2 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 2m15.453s
3 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 2m15.768s
4 Rafael Camara Prema 2m15.845s
5 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 2m15.813s
6 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 2m16.091s
7 Hadrien David ART Grand Prix 2m16.013s
8 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.104s
9 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 2m16.171s
10 Joshua Duerksen Arden 2m16.178s
11 Michael Belov G4 Racing 2m16.206s
12 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 2m16.240s
13 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 2m16.297s
14 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing 2m16.288s
15 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 2m16.373s
16 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing 2m16.404s
17 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.403s
18 Tom Lebbon Arden 2m16.406s
19 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 2m16.478s
20 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 2m16.435s
21 Owen Tangavelou Trident 2m16.557s
22 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 2m16.483s
23 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m16.567s
24 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 2m16.553s
25 Adam Fitzgerald R-P-M 2m16.763s
26 Nikhil Bohra Trident 2m16.598s
27 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 2m16.801s
28 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 2m16.619s
29 Alex Partyshev KIC Motorsport 2m16.883s
30 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 2m17.291s
31 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 2m17.154s
32 Niels Koolen Van Amerfoort Racing 2m17.910s
33 Levente Revesz Arden 2m17.155s
34 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing 2m18.222s