Home Formula 4GB4 Taylor wins GB4 race one at Snetterton

Taylor wins GB4 race one at Snetterton

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsports’ Nikolas Taylor took a lights-to-flag win in the first GB4 race at Snetterton as a jumped start denied Tom Mills second place.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Mills moved before the red lights came on at the start after being caught out by a five-second light on the gantry, but maintained second place behind Taylor into turn one.

Taylor controlled the 10-lap contest, pulling out more than a second lead over Mills, who was soon handed a 10s time penalty and was demoted to sixth at the chequered flag.

That promoted Mills’ team-mate Jarrod Waberski to second, having finished a close third on the road.

Max Marzorati held on to fourth at the start, while his Hillspeed team-mate Megan Gilkes was passed for fifth by Elite Motorsport’s Jack Sherwood.

On lap three, Sherwood moved around the outside of Marzorati at Riches, before completing the move a couple of corners later at Palmer and then profiting from Mills’ penalty to take third. Both he and Gilkes have risen above Mills in the championship standings.

Chloe Grant passed Graham Brunton Racing team-mate Logan Hannah for seventh on lap two, and came home ahead by 0.345s after a race-long battle.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports 18m27.019s
2 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing +1.856s
3 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport +2.202s
4 Max Marzorati Hillspeed +6.760s
5 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed +7.181s
6 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +11.538s
7 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing +11.883s
8 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +12.251s
9 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports +51.957s
Fastest lap: Sherwood, 1m49.380s

Championship standings
Taylor 304   2 Marzorati 278   3 Waberski 247   4 Alex Walker 244   5 Sherwood 221   6 Gilkes 217   7 Mills 217   8 Elias Adestam 151   9 Hannah 137   10 Edgar 131