Home News Tan takes his fifth win in a row in Protyre FR

Tan takes his fifth win in a row in Protyre FR

by Gruz David
Weiron Tan

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Weiron Tan continues to be unbeatable in the second half of the championship as he won the second Protyre FR race at Rockingham.

Starting from first place, Tan once again kept his lead and showed a pace nobody could follow. After retiring in the first race, this time Sam MacLeod was able to finish second despite racing under huge pressure by series leader Chris Middlehurst, who collected another podium position.

Chinese driver Hong Wei Cao finished fourth after a great recovery from ninth. His teammate?Wei Fung Thong, on the other hand, had to settle with fifth despite his third place on the grid.

Championship frontrunners Jake Cook and Jorge Cevallos took sixth and seventh, as Leo Yee, Tom Oliphant and Matthew Rao completed the top ten.

Although Weiron Tan is showing a commanding performance race by race, Middlehurst still leads the championship by 83 points, which means in case he wins the third race, he will be surely crowned as the eighteenth champion of the series.

Race Two results

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Weiron Tan Fortec Motorsport 21:19.548
2 Sam MacLeod Fortec Motorsport 5.330
3 Chris Middlehurst MGR Motorsport 6.060
4 Hongwei Cao Fortec Motorsport 8.664
5 Wei Fung Thong Fortec Motorsport 10.114
6 Jake Cook Hillspeed 10.444
7 Jorge Cevallos MGR Motorsport 15.242
8 Hongli Yee Fortec Motorsport 16.590
9 Tom Oliphant MGR Motorsport 20.425
10 Matthew Rao Hillspeed 22.296
11 Henrique Baptista Scorpio Motorsport 23.425
12 Pietro Fittipaldi Jamun Racing Services 25.117
13 Diego Menchaca Jamun Racing Services 25.376
14 Joe Ghanem Mtech Lite 26.344
15 Shahan Sarkissian Mtech Lite 28.396
16 Atte Lehtonen SWB Motorsport 37.122
Not classified
18 Edward Brand Mtech Lite 5 Laps
19 Mat?as Galetto Mtech Lite 11 Laps
20 Matteo Ferrer MGR Motorsport 14 Laps