Home News Tan claims Pro Mazda pole position for oval racing debut

Tan claims Pro Mazda pole position for oval racing debut

by Gruz David
Photo: Andersen Promotions

Photo: Andersen Promotions

Weiron Tan?will embark on his maiden oval race from the head of the field having?collected his fifth pole in Pro Mazda at Lucas Oil Speedway.

The Malaysian was the last driver to record a time in a qualifying which saw the drivers completing?two laps each, and stripped teammate Dalton Kellett of the lead to lock out the first two positions for Andretti Autosport.

USF2000 graduates Florian Latorre and Will Owen were third and fourth respectively, while the Frenchman’s teammates Neil Alberico and Daniel Burkett completed the top six.

Garrett Grist secured seventh ahead of championship leader and another oval debutant Raoul Owens, Brazilian Victor Franzoni and Uruguay’s Santiago Urrutia.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Speed
1 Weiron Tan Andretti Autosport 110.938
2 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 110.325
3 Florian Latorre Cape Motorsports 110.066
4 Will Owen Juncos Racing 109.607
5 Neil Alberico Cape Motorsports 109.390
6 Daniel Burkett Cape Motorsports 109.031
7 Garett Grist Juncos Racing 108.852
8 Raoul Owens Team Pelfrey 108.572
9 Victor Franzoni M1 Racing 108.491
10 Santiago Urrutia Team Pelfrey 108.451
11 Jose Gutierrez Juncos Racing 108.403
12 Patricio O’Ward Team Pelfrey 107.969
13 Timothe Buret Juncos Racing 107.942
14 Alessandro Latif World Speed Motorsports 105.286
15 Bobby Eberle World Speed Motorsports 100.594