Home Formula 4British F4 Stilp scores maiden win, Sharp takes one-point lead into British F4 finale

Stilp scores maiden win, Sharp takes one-point lead into British F4 finale

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Gabriel Stilp claimed his maiden British Formula 4 victory in a red-flagged final race at Donington Park. 

The race ended with less than four minutes on the clock when series newcomer Alvise Rodella came to a stop on track. There was not enough time to get the race going again, but enough time had passed to award full points for the race. 

Mika Abrahams put in a strong fight after starting from pole position. A poor start meant he lost the lead to Louis Sharp, but Abrahams came back at the first corner and reclaimed the position as Sharp went wide. Freddie Slater joined them to make it a three-car fight for the lead, only to run wide through the gravel and damage his front wing. 

Abrahams and Sharp were then joined by Stilp and Aqil Alibhai in a four-car fight. Stilp and Alibhai briefly passed Abrahams, only for the pole sitter to fight back to the lead.

A wide moment then dropped Abrahams back again. He tried to fight back, but was handed a 10-second penalty for a false start. 

The race was then neutralised by an incident for Josh Irfan, which prompted the safety car. 

Abrahams tried to continue the fight on the restart but dropped backwards. He was sixth when the red flag came out, but dropped to the back of the field on the corrected timings. 

Stilp held off Alibhai to take his first victory ahead of Sharp. Third was enough for Sharp to regain the championship lead, after a two-place penalty following the previous race.

Rival Will Macintyre had climbed up from outside the top 10 to finish fourth, just 0.293s behind Sharp. They head into the final round of the championship separated by only one point. 

James Higgins took sixth, ahead of James Piszcyk and Noah Lisle. Deagen Fairclough, Kenato Le and Isaac Barashi completed the top 10. 

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP 13m41.240s
2 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing +0.912s
3 Louis Sharp Carlin +1.377s
4 William Macintyre Hitech GP +1.670s
5 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports +2.214s
6 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +2.689s
7 Noah Lisle Carlin +3.265s
8 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments +3.592s
9 Kanato Le Hitech GP +4.020s
10 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport +4.665s
11 Tom Mills JHR Developments +4.874s
12 Griffin Peebles Argenti Motorsport +5.339s
13 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing +5.846s
14 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing +6.237s
15 Freddie Slater Double R Racing +6.408s
16 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport +7.145s
17 Dion Gowda Carlin +7.869s
18 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +8.916s
19 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsports +11.026s
Ret Alvise Rodella Argenti Motorsport
Ret Josh Irfan Carlin
Ret Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing
Fastest lap: Slater, 1m28.539s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 331   2 Macintyre 330   3 Fairclough 236   4 Gowda 230   5 Higgins 208   6 Piszcyk 192   7 Le 183   8 Lisle 159   9 Alibhhai 157   10 Stilp 151