Home Featured Stenshorne wins FREC finale to end season as runner-up

Stenshorne wins FREC finale to end season as runner-up

by Peter Allen

Photo: Dutch Photo Agency

Martinius Stenshorne beat R-ace GP team-mate Tim Tramnitz to win the final race of the Formula Regional European Championship season at Hockenheim and secure second in the standings.

Red Bull junior Tramnitz started from pole position but Stenshorne got a quicker getaway from alongside him on the front row to lead into the first corner.

Tramnitz was challenged for second by Prema’s Rafael Camara and conceded the place by running wide and off-track at Turn 2, before contact with Andrea Kimi Antonelli pushed the Mercedes junior into the run-off area at the Mercedes arena and down the order.

Incidents at the hairpin dominated the race. Contact with Pierre-Alexandre Provost put Marcus Amand out of the race on lap one, before Matias Zagazeta spun Valentin Kluss around. Esteban Masson then collided with Maya Weug – in similar circumstances to his clash with team-mate Emerson Fittipaldi in Saturday’s race – and this triggered the first safety car of the race

On the restart, Camara went side-by-side with Stenshorne into the Mercedes arena for the lead, but the Norwegian remained ahead.

The safety car soon came back out because of another clash at the hairpin involving Ivan Klymenko and Javier Sagrera. At the second restart, Sami Meguetounif spun on entry to the hairpin, forcing Laurens van Hoepen to a stop in avoidance.

With six minutes left on the clock, Camara had another go at Stenshorne into Mercedes but this time lost out to both Tramnitz and Kas Haverkort.

This had implications for the teams’ championship, which Prema led by 25 points over R-ace GP coming into the race. Now, with the French team holding first and second and Camara down to fourth with Antonelli in seventh, the two teams were tied on points – with R-ace GP set to win the title on countback.

One last piece of Antonelli magic would rescue the situation for Prema, the Italian closing a one-second deficit to pass Nikhil Bohra for sixth place on the last lap.

Stenshorne’s win secured him second place to Antonelli in the standings by 22 points over Tramnitz, while Haverkort’s podium was enough for him to take fourth overall by one point ahead of Camara.

Owen Tangavelou matched his season’s best of fifth place for Trident.

Race result (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP
2 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP +1.106s
3 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +2.089s
4 Rafael Camara Prema +4.057s
5 Owen Tangavelou Trident +4.985s
6 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +5.888s
7 Nikhil Bohra Trident +6.789s
8 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport +8.726s
9 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +9.170s
10 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +12.294s
11 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing +13.118s
12 Roman Bilinski Trident +14.232s
13 Noah Stromsted R-P-M +14.515s
14 Joshua Duerksen Arden +14.981s
15 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix +15.430s
16 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing +15.904s
17 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing +17.015s
18 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +25.887s
19 Valentin Kluss Monolite Racing +25.939s
20 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing +26.898s
21 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +27.067s
22 Tom Lebbon Arden +27.499s
23 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP +29.692s
24 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +31.757s
25 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing +34.224s
26 Francisco Soldavini G4 Racing +40.804s
Javier Sagrera MP Motorsport
Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport
Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing
Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport
Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing
Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix
Santiago Ramos R-P-M
Fastest lap: Haverkort, 1m37.094s

Championship standings
 Antonelli 300   2 Stenshorne 261   3 Tramnitz 239   4 Haverkort 174   5 Camara 173   6 Giusti 111   7 Fluxa 88   8 Capietto 77   9 Meguetounif 75   10 van Hoepen 71