Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Stenshorne takes pole for FREC’s first Mugello race

Stenshorne takes pole for FREC’s first Mugello race

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FRECA

Martinius Stenshorne took pole for the first Formula Regional European Championship race of the weekend at Mugello. 

The championship leader beat R-ace GP team-mate Tim Tramnitz to top the first group in qualifying, with a laptime that could not be beaten in the second group. 

Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli, who topped Group B, was 0.117 seconds slower than Stenshorne and will line up on the front row of the race one grid.

Laptimes dropped throughout the first qualifying group. It wasn’t long before the free practice pace was being matched, with Prema’s Rafael Camara the first to beat Stenshorne’s Friday benchmark. 

Camara was soon beaten by Tramnitz, who set the first sub-1m43s lap. The R-ace duo spent the closing minutes of their qualifying group knocking one another off the top spot. It was Tramnitz that was top of the order when the chequered flag waved, but Stensborne improved on his final lap to 1m42.305s, just 0.020s quicker than Tramnitz. 

Group B couldn’t find the same pace. Santiago Ramos and Kas Kaverkort both briefly held top spot before Antonelli jumped up the order. He set a 1m42.422s while in first place, but then could not improve on that in the last minutes and so Stenshorne was guaranteed pole.

Haverkort was second fastest in his group so will line up fourth ahead of Maya Weug, Owen Tangavelou and Josha Dufek, who briefly topped the times in Group A. 

Lorenzo Fluxa, Roman Bilinski and Ramos complete the top 10 on the grid for today’s race.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m42.305s
2 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m42.422s
3 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m42.325s
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.575s
5 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m42.832s
6 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m42.765s
7 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.901s
8 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m42.768s
9 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m42.975s
10 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m42.810s
11 Rafael Camara Prema 1m43.000s
12 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m42.845s
13 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 1m43.005s
14 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 1m43.003s
15 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m43.297s
16 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m43.118s
17 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing 1m43.336s
18 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m43.527s
19 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 1m43.479s
20 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 1m43.568s
21 Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix 1m43.658s
22 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 1m43.863s
23 Tom Lebbon Arden 1m43.991s
24 Levente Revesz Arden 1m43.869s
25 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 1m44.193s
26 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 1m43.966s
27 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.414s
28 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing 1m44.234s
29 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport 1m44.492s