Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Stenshorne adds to FREC lead with lights-to-flag Mugello win

Stenshorne adds to FREC lead with lights-to-flag Mugello win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Sebastian Rozendaal / Dutch Photo Agency

Martinius Stenshorne extended his Formula Regional European Championship lead with a lights-to-flag victory at Mugello. 

The R-ace GP driver was untouchable through race one of the weekend and finished more than two seconds clear of main title rival Andrea Kimi Antonelli.

He had been unable to challenge Stenshorne at the start, allowing the poleman to escape up the road while Antonelli battled with Tim Tramnitz for second. He kept Tramnitz behind him, but couldn’t match Stenshorne’s pace.  

Stenhorne gradually built up his lead, but that was eliminated when the safety car was brought out midway through the race. Kirill Smal and Joshua Duerksen had come together while fighting in the midfield and Smal was sent into the barriers. 

Antonelli had a second opportunity to challenge Stenshorne for the lead when the race restarted with eight minutes left on the clock. However, Stenshorne put in the perfect restart and had jumped away from the Prema driver by the end of the lap. 

Stenhorne didn’t put a wheel wrong thereon to take his fourth victory of the season. Antonelli had a lonely end to the race in second, while Tramnitz held off Kas Haverkort for third. 

The closest battle in the closing stages came from Joshua Dufek and Rafael Camara, who were fighting over fifth place. Camara couldn’t quite find a way past and had to settle for sixth.

Lorenzo Fluxa took seventh ahead of Maceo Capietto, Maya Weug and Alessandro Giusti. 

Further back, there were a few offs through the gravel, including two for Levente Revesz, who was forced wide with contact on both occasions. But only Smal ended the race in the gravel.

Race results (17 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 32m18.072s
2 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +2.091s
3 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP +4.957s
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +5.479s
5 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +8.656s
6 Rafael Camara Prema +9.194s
7 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +10.819s
8 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +11.348s
9 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +12.900s
10 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing +14.392s
11 Roman Bilinski Trident +14.791s
12 Santiago Ramos R-P-M +15.475s
13 Owen Tangavelou Trident +17.214s
14 Joshua Duerksen Arden +18.649s
15 Michael Belov G4 Racing +19.073s
16 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +20.006s
17 Nikhil Bohra Trident +20.318s
18 Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix +21.473s
19 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix +22.517s
20 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP +23.151s
21 Tom Lebbon Arden +23.465s
22 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +24.294s
23 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport +24.598s
24 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing +25.913s
25 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing +29.560s
26 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing +29.994s
27 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing +30.433s
Ret Levente Revesz Arden
Ret Kirill Smal Monolite Racing
Fastest lap: Stenshorne, 1m45.199s

Championship standings
1 Stenshorne 139   2 Antonelli 127   3 Tramnitz 113   4 Haverkort 86   5 Camara 73   6 Fluxa 60   7 Dufek 52   8 Capietto 50   9 Ramos 42   10 Meguetounif 23