Home Formula 4Italian F4 Slater cruises to maiden Italian F4 win in Misano race one

Slater cruises to maiden Italian F4 win in Misano race one

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: ACI Sport

Freddie Slater led lights-to-flag in the opening race of the Italian Formula 4 season at Misano.

Poleman Slater had been slow away on the formation lap but executed the race start to perfection to lead his Prema team-mate Alex Powell into the first corner, with the US Racing pair of Gianmarco Pradel and Akshay Bohra slotting in behind.

Thereafter Slater was able to maintain the gap to Mercedes-AMG junior Powell at around one second to take a comfortable win.

The safety car made a brief appearance after three laps following an incident in the midfield which eliminated Cram Motorsport’s Kai Daryanani while Maffi Racing’s Nathanael Berreby spun into retirement in a separate incident.

In a relatively uneventful race the four leaders maintained position throughout, with the Prema duo gradually pulling away at the front.

The third US Racing car of Jack Beeton managed to get past Van Amerfoort Racing’s Hiyu Yamakoshi after the race restart to take fifth, with Enzo Yeh unchallenged in seventh.

The most significant battle of the race was behind them as the Prema quartet of Kean Nakamura Berta, Tomass Stolcermanis, Rashid Al Dhaheri and Dion Gowda, fought for seventh.

Stolcermanis pulled off a superb pass around the outside at turn one at the restart to demote PHM Racing’s Davide Larini, who immediately dropped back behind the Prema phalanx.

Alpine junior Nakamura Berta was the man on the move, picking off Al Dhaheri in the early stages before closing on Stolcermanis who he passed on lap nine. However, he was unable to make any inroads on the R-ace GP car of Yeh ahead.

Race result (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Freddie Slater Prema 32m56.451s
2 Alex Powell Prema +0.727s
3 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing +3.389s
4 Akshay Bohra US Racing +4.183s
5 Jack Beeton US Racing +5.364s
6 Hiyu Yamakoshi Van Amersfoort Racing +7.824s
7 Enzo Yeh R-ace GP +9.276s
8 Kean Nakamura Berta Prema +10.738s
9 Tomass Stolcermanis Prema +10.883s
10 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema +11.205s
11 Dion Gowda Prema +11.691s
12 Reno Francot Jenzer Motorsport +15.102s
13 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport +15.666s
14 Davide Larini PHM Racing +15.933s
15 Matheus Ferreira US Racing +16.534s
16 Gustav Jonsson Van Amersfoort Racing +18.927s
17 Andrej Petrovic PHM Racing +20.037s
18 Maxim Rehm US Racing +20.408s
19 Emanuele Olivieri AKM Motorsport +20.662s
20 Enea Frey Jenzer Motorsport +22.697s
21 Maximilian Popov PHM Racing +23.675s
22 Lin Hodenius Van Amersfoort Racing +24.643s
23 Alvise Rodella Van Amersfoort Racing +25.024s
24 Shimo Zhang Jenzer Motorsport +25.224s
25 Luka Sammalisto R-ace GP +28.213s
26 Kamal Mrad PHM Racing +29.422s
27 Andrija Kostic Van Amersfoort Racing +30.152s
28 Luca Viisoreanu Real Racing Team +30.854s
29 Kabir Anurag US Racing +31.195s
30 Andei Duna Real Racing Team +41.315s
31 Everett Stack PHM Racing +41.990s
32 Jan Koller BVM Racing +44.245s
33 Alexander Savinkov AKM Motorsport +45.268s
34 Gabriel Holguin Maffi Racing +1m03.805s
35 Edu Robinson AS Motorsport +5 laps
Ret Kai Daryanani Cram Motorsport
Ret Nathanel Berreby Maffi Racing
Fastest lap: Stolcermanis, 1m35.238s