Home News Team USA’s Scott Huffaker wins second Walter Hayes Trophy heat

Team USA’s Scott Huffaker wins second Walter Hayes Trophy heat

by Joe Hudson

Team USA scholar Scott Huffaker won the second Walter Hayes Trophy heat, after multiple-time winners Joey Foster and Michael Moyers collided.

At the start, Foster and Moyers pulled clear of the chasing pack from the front row of the grid and were racing wheel-to-wheel around Silverstone’s still-damp National layout, ending lap two just 0.005 seconds apart.

The pair came to grief at Copse shortly after when Kevin Mills Racing driver Moyers squeezed Foster onto the damper inside line. That caused the Don Hardman Racing driver to slide to the outside and tangle with Moyers.

Suspension damage to both cars caused the pair to retire and consign them to the Progression race on Sunday morning as their only chance of making it to the semi-finals.

Their demise allowed Cliff Dempsey Racing driver Huffaker to breeze into the lead, building up a gap of more than two seconds over Team DDR’s Ivor McCullough at the chequered flag.

Third went the way of Ian Campbell, who fended off a late challenge from Myerscough College’s Jack Wolfenden after the latter progressed from sixth following an opening lap spin.

Miles Griffiths, driving for the familiarly named Hi-Tech Motorsports, took fifth place, 0.248s clear of John Svensson, having been unable to repel the challenge from Wolfenden at mid-distance.

Seventh went the way of James Hadfield (B-M Racing), with Peter Lucas (Souley Motorsport) half-a-second behind as he finished as the best of the Janet Cesar Memorial Trophy class cars in eighth.


Race results (8 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Scott Huffaker Cliff Dempsey Racing 9m14.984s
2 Ivor McCullough Team DDR +2.130s
3 Ian Campbell +6.645s
4 Jack Wolfenden Myerscough College +7.006s
5 Miles Griffiths Hi-Tech Motorsport +6.377s
6 John Svensson John’s Racing Team +8.625s
7 James Hadfield B-M Racing +15.248s
8 Peter Lucas Souley Motorsport +15.807s
9 Richard Davison Souley Motorsport +17.469s
10 Neil McArthur B-M Racing +19.173s
11 Richard Higgins Riadro Motorsport +19.790s
12 Stuart Thorburn Border Reivers +20.038s
13 Flashman Finneran +20.855s
14 Neil Broome +25.990s
15 Leanne McShane Souley Motorsport +27.546s
16 Joe Walton Souley Motorsport +28.511s
17 Joe Watts Team Fox Racing +30.468s
18 Charlie Ghinn +36.772s
19 James Colborn Wayne Poole Racing +39.212s
20 Neil Hunt Enigma Motorsport +40.337s
21 Richard Mendoza Enigma Motorsport +45.065s
22 Peter Sikstrom +45.245s
23 Jeremy Caine Neil Fowler Motorsport +52.053s
24 Mark Smith
Ret Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing
Ret Michael Moyers Kevin Mills Racing
DNS Richard Tarling Enigma Motorsport
Fastest lap: Huffaker, 1m08.596s