Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy survives late restart to take FREC Zandvoort race one

Saucy survives late restart to take FREC Zandvoort race one

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Regional by Alpine

ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy extended his series lead by winning the first Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine race of the weekend at Zandvoort.

Saucy got a good start from pole position to put himself into the lead at the start, while team-mate Gabriele Mini found himself under instant pressure from R-ace GP’s Hadrien David.

That allowed Saucy to open up a two-second gap in the early stages of the 30-minute race, as JD Motorsport’s Tommy Smith skidded off at Turn 8, which was recovered without a safety car intervention.

From there, Saucy was able to maintain the gap to Mini, extending it to around three seconds.

With eight minutes remaining, KIC Motorsport’s Patrik Pasma crashed on the exit of Turn 4, which did neutralise the race.

The restart came with three minutes to go and, much like at the start, Saucy scampered away as David tried (and failed) to get past Mini.

In one lap, Saucy opened up a gap of two seconds, and by the finish line, he was ahead by three to take his fifth win of the season.

As R-ace’s Zane Maloney could only finish 15th from 21st on the grid, it allowed Saucy to drastically extend his championship lead, which is now 39 points over David.

Mini and David finished in that order ahead of Prema Powerteam’s Paul Aron, who had a relatively quiet race.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto finally got points on the board with fifth, passing Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya on the restart.

R-ace’s Isack Hadjar too got past Boya and finished sixth, with Boya seventh. Prema’s Dino Beganovic, G4 Racing’s Michael Belov and Arden’s Alex Quinn rounded out the top 10.

Unlike at Paul Ricard, Belov is not listed as a guest driver and therefore is eligible for points.

David Vidales and William Alatalo had a fine scrap for 11th in the closing stages, with Vidales coming out on top.

In addition to Pasma and Smith, Monolite Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti was the only other retiree as he hit mechanical issues early on.

After crashing in qualifying and damaging his chassis, Andrea Rosso failed to start, as did Jasin Ferati who did not participate in the morning session.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 20 laps
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +3.180s
3 Hadrien David R-ace GP +3.865s
4 Paul Aron Prema +4.831s
5 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +5.283s
6 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +6.604s
7 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +7,255s
8 Dino Beganovic Prema +7.744s
9 Michael Belov G4 Racing +8.344s
10 Alex Quinn Arden +8.793s
11 David Vidales Prema +9.075s
12 William Alatalo Arden +9.594s
13 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +10.933s
14 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +11.110s
15 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +12.523s
16 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +12.690s
17 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +13.564s
18 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +13.785s
19 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +14.845s
20 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +15.147s
21 Brad Benavides DR Formula +16.143s
22 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +17.741s
23 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +18.194s
24 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +18.977s
25 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +19.444s
26 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +19.868s
27 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +19.957s
28 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +21.413s
Ret Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport Accident
Ret Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing Mechanical
Ret Tommy Smith JD Motorsport Accident
Fastest lap: Saucy, 1m32.145s

Championship standings
Saucy 135   2 David 96   3 Hadjar 93   4 Aron 88   5 Maloney 87   6 Quinn 79   7 Mini 74    8 Alatalo 58   9 Vidales 52   10 Pasma 45