Home Formula 3Euroformula Sato puts one hand on Euroformula title with Red Bull Ring win

Sato puts one hand on Euroformula title with Red Bull Ring win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Marino Sato took his eighth Euroformula Open win of the season in race two at the Red Bull Ring, leading a Motopark one-two.

The Japanese driver was unchallenged at the start, and quickly built up a three second gap to team-mate Julian Hanses. During the middle of the race, Hanses started setting fastest laps and trimmed Sato’s lead, before the championship leader responded with a lap that couldn?t be beaten and extended his advantage at the front.

With over a 100-point gap at the top of the standings now, Sato is confirmed to the be the championship leader going into the final round.

In contrast, the battle for third place between Double R Racing?s Linus Lundqvist and Teo Martin Motorsport?s Lukas Dunner was super close, with the pair finishing just 0.240s apart. Home favourite Dunner briefly got past Lundqvist at Turn 3 on the penultimate lap, but was asked to hand the position back.

Calan Williams followed up his fourth place from race one with an impressive for Fortec Motorsports, sticking roughly with the podium battle for the whole race.

Having started in last place, and failed to make up any places on the first lap, Carlin?s Billy Monger proceeded to storm up the field and finish sixth, his first points finish in five races. Although he could not catch Williams, he did put a sizeable nine second gap over the battling Javier Gonzalez and Cameron Das of RP Motorsport and Motopark by the end of the race.

Monger?s Carlin team-mates Nicolai Kjaergaard and Christian Hahn fought each other all race, despite several substantial errors from Hahn, and they rounded out the points.

Jack Doohan lost his front wing on the opening lap after hitting a grass dip, but managed to stay on the lead lap.


Race results (19 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Marino Sato Motopark 27m07.196s
2 Julian Hanses Motopark +2.963s
3 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +9.060s
4 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +9.300s
5 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +10.535s
6 Billy Monger Carlin +16.876s
7 Javier Gonzalez RP Motorsport +26.272s
8 Cameron Das Motopark +26.803s
9 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +27.369s
10 Christian Hahn Carlin +27.836s
11 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +34.862s
12 Rui Andrade Drivex School +35.094s
13 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +1m12.547s
Ret Pierre-Louis Chovet RP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Sato, 1m24.698s

Championship standings

1?Sato 262? ?2?Dunner 154? ?3?Liam Lawson 120? ?4?Yuki Tsunoda 110? ?5?Hanses 98? ?6?Lundqvist 96? ?7?Doohan 76? ?8?Hahn 58? ?9?Teppei Natori 50? ?10?Williams 42