Home Featured Roy Nissany tops rain-disrupted final F2 test session at Barcelona

Roy Nissany tops rain-disrupted final F2 test session at Barcelona

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

PHM Racing by Charouz’s Roy Nissany ended the final session of Formula 2’s in-season Barcelona test on top as rain disrupted the on-track action.

The expected rain had begun to fall during the lunch break, meaning the track was wet once the pitlane opened for the afternoon running.

Only six cars had completed timed laps half an hour into the session, with Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung having been the first out on track. Trident’s Roman Stanek topped the times in the early stages with a laptime of 1m39.315s.

The rain stopped and the track started to dry out. Rodin Carlin’s Zane Maloney set a new fastest lap of 1m37.435s, with Campos’s Kush Maini and his team-mate Enzo Fittipaldi following him into the 1m37s.

Ayumu Iwasa brought out red flags at the end of the first hour of running. His DAMS team didn’t fix the rear-right tyre properly and the Red Bull junior lost it at the exit of turn five.

Action resumed and Hitech GP’s Jak Crawford was the first to opt for slick tyres, going for the soft compound. He was soon followed by his team-mate Isack Hadjar and Nissany, who lowered the pace to 1m27.654s.

The Israeli driver bettered his own fastest lap by over one second as track conditions continued to improve.

Light rain with ahead of the test’s final hour of action meant drivers returned to the garage, with little running taking place after that.

Afternoon session results

Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m26.453s   24
2 Clement Novalak Trident 1m26.665s +0.212s 14
3 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m27.892s +1.439s 14
4 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m28.420s +1.967s 38
5 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m28.644s +2.191s 16
6 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1m29.135s +2.682s 8
7 Brad Benavides PHM by Charouz 1m29.424s +2.971s 21
8 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m29.578s +3.125s 12
9 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m29.689s +3.236s 43
10 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m29.778s +3.325s 38
11 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m29.794s +3.341s 31
12 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m29.836s +3.383s 12
13 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.860s +3.407s 20
14 Roman Stanek Trident 1m30.020s +3.567s 38
15 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m30.038s +3.585s 36
16 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1m30.850s +4.397s 35
17 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.923s +4.470s 16
18 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1m31.319s +4.866s 26
19 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1m35.317s +8.864s 9
20 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1m36.046s +9.593s 14
21 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m38.877s +12.424 30
22 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1m40.261s +13.808s 5