Home News Nikita Johnson takes pole in wet USF2000 qualifying at Indianapolis

Nikita Johnson takes pole in wet USF2000 qualifying at Indianapolis

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Velocity Racing Development’s Nikita Johnson was fastest in USF2000 qualifying on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course.

Johnson had set the pace in Thursday free practice, and rain hit before qualifying began on Friday morning. That made the track exceptionally slippy, but not too many were caught out and Johnson was on top halfway through the session with a 1m36.1474s lap.

That put him just 0.0369 seconds ahead of Exclusive Autosport’s Jacob Douglas, with Jay Howard Driver Development’s Evagoras Papasavvas in third.

There was then a red flag stoppage as DEForce Racing’s Maxwell Jamieson had spun off and his car needed recovering from the wet grass. The clock continued to count down on the half-hour session through the interruption, and track action resumed with just under eight minutes to go.

However under the series’ rules on how much green flag running drivers actually get in sessions it meant the chequered flag was waved with five minutes remaining.

Almost everyone had headed back out when the session restarted, and almost all of them also improved on their final lap. That meant there was lots of changes to the order at the finish, with Pabst Racing’s Simon Sikes briefly on pole and then Douglas before Johnson also improved to secure pole by 0.2489s.

Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing’s Elliot Cox jumped up to third place after the chequered flag, with Sikes ending up in fourth ahead of team-mate Max Garcia.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nikita Johnson Velocity Racing Development 1m35.6295s 12
2 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport 1m35.8784s +0.2489s 13
3 Elliot Cox SFHR 1m36.0062s +0.3767s 13
4 Simon Sikes Pabst Racing 1m36.0331s +0.4036s 13
5 Max Garcia Pabst Racing 1m36.0427s +0.4132s 13
6 Mac Clark DEForce Racing 1m36.2400s +0.6105s 13
7 Jorge Garciarce DEForce Racing 1m36.3213s +0.6918s 13
8 Avery Towns Exclusive Autosport 1m36.3786s +0.7491s 13
9 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD 1m36.3792s +0.7497s 13
10 Ethan Ho DC Autosport 1m36.3985s +0.7690s 13
11 Lochie Hughes JHDD 1m36.5307s +0.9012s 13
12 Sam Corry Velocity Racing Development 1m36.6398s +1.0103s 12
13 Lucas Mann Exclusive Autosport 1m37.3129s +1.6834s 13
14 Danny Dyszelski Velocity Racing Development 1m37.6117s +1.9822s 7
15 Zack Ping Velocity Racing Development 1m37.6227s +1.9932s 12
16 Max Taylor Velocity Racing Development 1m37.6276s +1.9981s 12
17 Gordon Scully Velocity Racing Development 1m37.7097s +2.0802s 14
18 Al Morey JHDD 1m39.9710s +4.3415s 4
19 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing 1m40.1687s +4.5392s 12
20 Chase Gardner Exclusive Autosport 1m40.5458s +4.9163s 2