Home Formula 3Euroformula Rovera among additions to Euroformula Open’s first round

Rovera among additions to Euroformula Open’s first round

by Valentin Khorounzhiy


The organizers of the 2015 Euroformula Open season have released the entry list for the season opener at Jerez, confirming several new names.

Alessio Rovera, 2013 Formula Abarth champion, will line up alongside compatriot Leonardo Pulcini at DAV Racing. Rovera is already a EF Open race winner, having triumphed in the second Winter Series race at Paul Ricard.

Kuwaiti racer Ahmad Al Ghanem, runner-up in Formula Gulf 1000, will run as the fourth entry for Campos Racing. Spanish karting graduate Otto Sanchez, meanwhile, will partner up with EmiliodeVillota Motorsport.

Another Spaniard from karting – Javier Cobian Gonzalez – will represent BVM Racing. Cobian was runner-up to Joonas Lappalainen in 2012’s CIK-FIA Academy Trophy, finished third in the Spanish national championship in KF3 and fourth in KZ2.

Overall, 20 drivers have been confirmed for the Jerez round, with another entrant from Team West-Tec yet to be unveiled.

In spite of February’s announcement, Edi Haxhiu and Corbetta Competizioni are absent from the preliminary grid.

2015 Euroformula Open Jerez entry list
Team Drivers
RP Motorsport Andres Saravia, Damiano Fioravanti, Igor Walilko,
Vitor Baptista, Dzhon Simonyan, Antoni Ptak
Campos Racing Konstantin Tereshchenko, Henrique Baptista, Diego Menchaca, Ahmad Al Ghanem
Team West-Tec Yarin Stern, Tanart Sathienthirakul, TBA
EmiliodeVillota Motorsport Yu Kanamaru, Jose Manuel Vilalta, Michael Dorrbecker, Otto Sanchez
BVM Racing William Barbosa, Javier Cobian
DAV Racing Leonardo Pulcini, Alessio Rovera