Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Romanek’s National FF1600 lead cut by another Kelly win

Romanek’s National FF1600 lead cut by another Kelly win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Jordan Kelly reduced Lucas Romanek’s BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 points lead with victory in race two at Knockhill.

The Team Dolan driver had already taken pole and won the David Leslie Trophy-awarding race one, and he followed it up with a dominant victory by 10.641 seconds over Romanek.

With the race one classification setting the grid for race two, it meant Kelly started on pole ahead of Ammonite Motorsport’s Elliott Budzinski and Romanek. The move for second was made by Romanek on lap one, while Budzinski held third place until lap 10 when he was passed by Morgan Quinn.

Budzinski lost another place to team-mate Nolan Allaer at the finish courtesy of a five-second penalty for track limits abuse, while Quinn chased Romanek and finished just 0.156s behind him.

Allaer started fourth but ran as low as sixth early on, having been passed by Quinn and Oldfield Motorsport’s Brandon McCaughan. But on lap five McCaughan dropped to eighth, and he had to pass Drew Stewart and then former British Touring Car Championship racer Derek Palmer Jr to get into sixth.

Thereon it was a tight battle for seventh, with Stewart beating B-M Racing’s David McArthur to the position by 0.221s and Palmer by 0.238s in a photo finish. But track limits penalties for Stewart and McArthur meant Palmer was classified ahead of both.

Two rounds remain of the National FF1600 season, meaning dropped scores will start to apply. Drivers who contest the whole season have to drop four races from their final points tally.

Race result (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Car Time
1 Jordan Kelly Team Dolan Van Diemen RF06 20m14.829s
2 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport Van Diemen JL13 +10.641s
3 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan Van Diemen RF99 +10.797s
4 Nolan Allaer Ammonite Motorsport Ray GR22 +14.397s
5 Elliott Budzinski Ammonite Motorsport Ray GR18 +16.167s
6 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport Van Diemen JL13 +23.813s
7 Derek Palmer Jr Ray GR10 +35.424s
8 Drew Stewart Van Diemen RF00 +39.965s
9 David McArthur B-M Racing Medina Sport BH19 +40.186s
Fastest lap: Kelly, 54.913s

Championship standings
1 Romanek 406   2 Kelly 381   3 Budzinksi 330   4 McCaughan 311   5 Allaer 263   6 Quinn 248   7 Chris Middlehurst 173   8 Nathan Yu 118   9 Jamie Sharp 114   10 Lucas Blakeley 99