Home News Rodin’s Thomas Strauven wins Spanish F4 race two at Jarama

Rodin’s Thomas Strauven wins Spanish F4 race two at Jarama

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Rodin Motorsport’s Thomas Strauven converted pole into victory in the second Spanish Formula 4 race at Jarama.

There was drama at the start as fellow front row starter Luca Fluxa but spun around by Maciej Gladysz at turn one, with Mattia Colnaghi driving over the top of Fluxa’s car while Ernesto Rivera got stuck behind the immobile vehicles.

Lots of drivers went off in avoidance of the crash site, and Yevan David got spun around which dropped him to the back. Red flags waved shortly after, and the race restarted 20 minutes later with the original grid order but with the field now on lap two rather than lap one.

There were two laps behind the safety car before the field was released to race, with Strauven leading Gladysz, Keanu Al Azhari, James Egozi, Peter Bouzinelos and Andres Cardenas.

Egozi took third from Al Azhari at turn one, and on the next lap Nathan Tye passed Enzo Tarnvanichkul for seventh place at the same corner. The order settled down up front despite the gaps being close, and on lap six Jan Przyrowski passed Griffin Peebles for 11th. Peebles regained the place only to then spin around and fall to the back of the order, with Daniel Nogales profiting to also get past Przyrowski.

Tarnvanichkul lost a spot to Rene Lammers on lap seven, as Gladyz started to close in on the leader. He was 0.4 seconds behind him for several laps before the safety car appeared on lap 14 as Maxi Restrepo retired from 13th.

Racing resumed on the 16th and final lap, and Strauven nailed the restart to secure himself victory while Al Azhari reclaimed third from Egozi. He had been pressuring his Red Bull Junior Team stablemate heavily before the safety car period.

Tarnvanichkul got back past Lammers for eighth, and Matteo Quintarelli completed the top 10.

Race results (16 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Thomas Strauven Rodin Motorsport 47m59.123s
2 Maciej Gladysz MP Motorsport +0.941s
3 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +1.095s
4 James Egozi Campos Racing +1.490s
5 Peter Bouzinelos Rodin Motorsport +2.075s
6 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing +2.529s
7 Nathan Tye Campos Racing +3.028s
8 Enzo Tarnvanichkul Campos Racing +3.916s
9 Rene Lammers MP Motorsport +4.039s
10 Matteo Quintarelli Sainteloc Racing +4.220s
11 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +4.383s
12 Jan Przyrowski Campos Racing +4.616s
13 Juan Cota Drivex School +5.125s
14 Gabriel Gomez TC Racing +5.438s
15 Preston Lambert Rodin Motorsport +6.001s
16 Yevan David Sainteloc Racing +6.392s
17 Adam Hideg Cram Motorsport +7.029s
18 Lenny Ried Monlau Motorsport +7.577s
19 Kirill Kutskov Global Racing Service +7.882s
20 Cristian Cantu TC Racing +8.214s
21 Douwe Dedecker Global Racing Service +8.349s
22 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +8.817s
23 Wiktor Dobrzanski Tecnicar Motorsport +9.890s
24 Griffin Peebles MP Motorsport +10.406s
25 Tim Gerhards Monlau Motorsport +11.963s
26 Matus Ryba Drivex School +12.416s
27 Gustaw Wisniewski Tecnicar Motorsport +12.812s
28 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorsport +13.325s
29 Mikkel Pedersen Drivex School +1 lap
30 Francisco Macedo Drivex School +1 lap
31 Maxi Restrepo Sainteloc Racing +4 laps
32 Rehan Hakim Monlau Motorsport +4 laps
Ret Lucas Fluxa MP Motorsport
Ret Ernesto Rivera Campos Racing
Ret Mattia Colnaghi MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Al Azhari, 1m33.358s

Championship standings
1 Strauven 34   2 Al Azhari 31   3 Fluxa 27   4 Gladysz 25   5 Bouzinelos 20   6 Egozi 10   7 Tye 10   8 Lammers 9   9 Cardenas 6   10 Colnaghi 4