Home Formula 4British F4 Rising star Freddie Slater making British F4 debut with Double R Racing

Rising star Freddie Slater making British F4 debut with Double R Racing

by Ida Wood

Photo: KSP Reportages

Ginetta Junior points leader Freddie Slater will make his single-seater racing debut in this weekend’s British Formula 4 round at Donington Park.

The highly-rated Briton turned 15 earlier this month, making him old enough to compete in British F4. He is driving for the returning Double R Racing team, which last appeared in the series back in 2020 when first-generation F4 cars were used.

It marks a return of the Double R name to single-seater competition. The team competed in Euroformula two years ago, and its sister company Fine Moments ran all of W Series’ cars for the 2021 and ’22 seasons. Since then Double R has continued to operate as a test team, running drivers in a variety of single-seaters at circuits across the UK.

“This is a new team for me, but a well known team so I know I have the people behind me too challenge at the top,” Slater said to Formula Scout.

“It’s just all an experience to learn the most, I definitely have the speed but have never been to Donington Park in F4 so going to have to crack on quickly and then can be challenging for the top three for sure or even the win.”

Slater is in a position where he could become champion of the entry-level Ginetta Junior series with a round to spare, having won 16 out of 21 races so far this season. He has also combined his maiden car racing campaign this year with a rookie season in shifter karting, coming second on his KZ2 debut in the WSK Champions Cup then following that up with sixth in the WSK Super Master Series and winning the CIK-FIA European championship.

That is the latest in a string of major karting successes for Slater, who won the European and World championships on OK-Junior karts as well as the WSK Open Cup, South Garda Winter Cup and Champions of the Future series. During his time in the category he also came third in the WSK Euro Series and fourth in WSK SMS.

Last year he stepped up to OK karts, coming second in the single-event Italian championship, third in WSK SMS, fifth in the World championship and 11th in CotF. After that he came second in a post-season British F4 test at Snetterton with Rodin Carlin, then made his car racing debut in the Ginetta Junior Winter Series and took the title with three wins from four races.

Slater returned to a single-seater cockpit this March, contesting a pre-season British F4 test at Silverstone, then in June drove for Van Amersfoort Racing in an Italian F4 test at Monza. He told Formula Scout that he is not sure if he will make further F4 outings this year.

In the first practice session at Donington this morning, on the circuit’s full Grand Prix layout, Slater was eighth fastest.

The pace was set by Fortec Motorsports’ Mika Abrahams, who with a 1m28.294s laptime set with just under nine minutes to go of the 45-minute session usurped Rodin Carlin’s Louis Sharp by 0.116 seconds.

Sharp was later shuffled down to third by Hitech GP’s Gabriel Stilp, who got within 0.065s of Abrahams, and late on Sharp improved to finish 0.075s off Abraham’s pace.

Also in action were GB4 points leader Tom Mills with JHR Developments and Spanish F4 regular Alvise Rodella with Argenti Motorsport. Neither has been announced as racing.

Free practice 1 results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsports 1m28.294s 26
2 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP 1m28.359s +0.065s 21
3 Louis Sharp Carlin 1m28.368s +0.074s 24
4 William Macintyre Hitech GP 1m28.474s +0.180s 22
5 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports 1m28.656s +0.362s 25
6 James Piszcyk Hitech GP 1m28.682s +0.388s 22
7 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing 1m28.684s +0.390s 25
8 Freddie Slater Double R Racing 1m28.742s +0.448s 23
9 Deagen Faiclough JHR Developments 1m28.754s +0.460s 22
10 Dion Gowda Carlin 1m28.835s +0.541s 24
11 Tom Mills JHR Developments 1m28.906s +0.612s 23
12 Noah Lisle Carlin 1m28.910s +0.616s 26
13 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing 1m28.978s +0.684s 23
14 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport 1m28.980s +0.686s 23
15 Griffin Peebles Argenti Motorsport 1m29.045s +0.751s 25
16 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing 1m29.062s +0.768s 21
17 Kanato Le Hitech GP 1m29.228s +0.934s 20
18 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing 1m29.469s +1.175s 23
19 Alvise Rodella Argenti Motorsport 1m29.491s +1.197s 22
20 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing 1m29.555s +1.261s 25
21 Josh Irfan Carlin 1m29.583s +1.289s 24
22 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport 1m29.660s +1.366s 21