Home Featured Rasmussen gets pole for second Indy Nxt race of season at Barber

Rasmussen gets pole for second Indy Nxt race of season at Barber

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Karl Zemlin

Christian Rasmussen claimed pole position in a quick-fire eight-minute Indy Nxt qualifying session at Barber Motorsports Park for the second race of the 2023 season. 

The HMD Motorsports driver jumped to the top of the times with his final lap of the session, setting a new official track record in the process. 

Rasmussen’s 1m10.7371s kept him in first place as the rest of the field completed their final laps.  

Series returnee Toby Sowery topped the classification early on for HMD, but nobody remained in position for long in the short session. As laptimes tumbled, Hunter McElrea, Rasmussen, Kyffin Simpson and Nolan Siegel all took turns on provisional pole.

Siegel was the first to lap sub-1m11s late on, setting a 1m10.9856s. He sat at the top when the chequered flag fell and was knocked back to second by Rasmussen. Siegel improved on his final lap following that, but not enough to better Rasmussen’s time as he was 0.1311 seconds slower than the pole-sitter. 

Andretti Autosport’s Louis Foster also improved on his final lap, jumping up to third, ahead of team-mate McElrea and Sowrey. 

Points leader Danial Frost could only manage to go eighth fastest. He spent most of qualifying in the bottom half of the timing screens, only to jump up to eighth as he took the chequered flag. He starts behind Simpson and Reece Gold. 

Enaam Ahmed and James Roe Jr complete the top 10 on the grid for tomorrow’s race.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Christian Rasmussen HMD Motorsports 1m10.7371s 6
2 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports 1m10.8682s +0.1311s 6
3 Louis Foster Andretti Autosport 1m10.9247s +0.1876s 7
4 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1m11.0690s +0.3319s 7
5 Toby Sowery HMD Motorsports 1m11.0736s +0.3465s 6
6 Kyffin Simpson HMD Motorsports 1m11.1578s +0.4207s 6
7 Reece Gold Juncos Racing 1m11.2148s +0.4777s 7
8 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 1m11.2155s +0.4784s 6
9 Enaam Ahmed Cape Motorsports 1m11.2944s +0.5573s 7
10 James Roe Jr Andretti Autosport 1m11.3740s +0.6369s 7
11 Josh Green HMD Motorsports 1m11.4137s +0.6766s 6
12 Matteo Nannini Juncos Racing 1m11.4623s +0.7252s 6
13 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m11.5003s +0.7632s 7
14 Colin Kaminsky Abel Motorsports 1m11.5430s +0.8059s 7
15 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m11.5850s +0.8479s 7
16 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m11.8030s +1.0659s 6
17 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Autosport 1m11.9208s +1.1837s 7
18 Ernie Francis Jr HMD Motorsports 1m12.0393s +1.3022s 6