Home Formula 4Italian F4 Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto quickest at Mugello in Italian F4 testing

Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto quickest at Mugello in Italian F4 testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Gabriel Bortoleto topped two sessions out of four on Wednesday in Italian Formula 4’s in-season Mugello test.

The Prema driver showed hist most convincing form to date, getting quicker as the day went on and ending up with a 0.074-second advantage over Ferrari-backed team-mate Dino Beganovic.

Championship leader Gabriele Mini made it an all Prema top three after improving in the final session, while Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran also made big gains in the afternoon to end the day as fourth fastest.

That shuffled the fourth Prema car of Sebastian Montoya down to fifth, with a half-second spread across this leading quintest.

Session three pacesetter Andrea Rosso (Cram Motorsport) and early morning pacesetter Pietro Delli Guanti (BVM Racing) ended up sixth and seventh due to their efforts in the third session, with Delli Guanti’s returning team-mate Francesco Simonazzi – having moved to Jenzer Motorsport for one Spanish F4 round and one Italian F4 round – a further 0.004s back in eighth.

Dexter Patterson was the top Bhaitech driver in ninth, and along with Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli and Jenzer’s Francesco Braschi were the only other drivers within a second of the pace.


Test day two results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m47.784s 64
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m47.858s +0.074s 68
3 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m47.963s +0.179s 68
4 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.172s +0.388s 74
5 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m48.280s +0.496s 70
6 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m48.416s +0.632s 79
7 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing 1m48.586s +0.802s 68
8 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m48.590s +0.806s 65
9 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m48.601s +0.817s 72
10 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m48.641s +0.857s 78
12 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.753s +0.969s 71
11 Kacper Sztuka Iron Lynx 1m48.866s +1.082s 79
13 Lorenzo Fluxa AKM Motorsport 1m48.964s +1.180s 81
14 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m49.079s +1.295s 81
15 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m49.107s +1.323s 73
16 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m49.278s +1.494s 68
17 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.417s +1.633s 71
18 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m49.429s +1.645s 72
19 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m49.886s +2.102s 57
20 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m49.958s +2.174s 76
21 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport 1m49.965s +2.181s 75
22 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.969s +2.185s 43
23 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m50.096s +2.312s 59
24 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m50.281s +2.497s 67
25 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport 1m50.393s +2.609s 80
26 Alan Czyz DR Formula 1m50.539s +2.755s 82