Home Formula 4British F4 Piszyck converts pole to victory in Silverstone finale

Piszyck converts pole to victory in Silverstone finale

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

James Piszyck converted pole position into victory in the final British Formula 4 race of the weekend. 

Piszyck was kept under pressure from team-mate Will Macintyre throughout the 10-lap race. He didn’t put a wheel wrong on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit and kept Macintyre at bay to take his second win of the season. 

Piszyck held onto the lead off the line while Macintyre slipped past Gabriel Stilp to take second. The poleman was briefly able to edge away in the first few laps as Macintyre tried to shake Stilp, but Macintyre soon began closing the gap to Piszyck again. 

Throghout the second half of the race, the pair had a good gap to the rest of the field, but Macinytre couldn’t get close enough to attempt a move on his team-mate. 

He finished 0.937s back but retains the lead of the championship heading into the second half of the season. 

Stilp initially had a train of drivers behind him in the battle for third, but was able to break free from the slipstream late on as Dion Gowda battled with Kanato Le. 

Le found a way past Gowda late on. Despite a wide moment over the kerbs he held on to take fourth. 

Deagan Fairclough secured sixth, just ahead of Gowda and Gustav Jonsson. 

James Higgins enjoyed a strong start to the race but fell back to ninth late on. He managed to come back to take eighth from Sharp in the closing laps. Noah Lisle completed the top 10 while Josh Irfan was the third quickest rookie in P11 overall. 

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Piszcyk Hitech GP 20m32.333s
2 Will Macintyre Hitech GP +0.937s
3 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP +4.189s
4 Kenato Le Hitech GP +7.016s
5 Degan Fairclough JHR Developments +11.439s
6 Dion Gowda Carlin +11.517s
7 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing +12.483s
8 James Higgins Fortec Motorsport +13.013s
9 Louis Sharp Carlin +13.869s
10 Noah Lisle Carlin +16440s
11 Josh Irfan Carlin +17.007s
12 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing +17.715s
13 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsport +18.340s
14 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport +19.445s
15 Daniel Guinchard Chris Dittmann Racing +19.673s
16 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +20.870s
17 Jaden Pariat Argenti Motorsport +26.688s
18 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing +28.240s
19 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing +28.578s
20 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport +43.080s
Ret Sonny Smith JHR Developments
Fastest lap: surname, 2m02.490s

Championship standings
1 Macintyre 210   2 Sharp 183   3 Gowda 163   4 Le 148   5 Piszcyk 141   6 Higgins 127   7 Lisle 126   8 Fairclough 116   9 Alibhhai 98   10 Guinchard 95