Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Picariello inherits pole position after an incident-heavy qualifying

Picariello inherits pole position after an incident-heavy qualifying

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Championship leader Alessio Picariello inherited pole position for race one of ADAC Formel Masters at Oschersleben, having come second in qualifying to Nicolas Beer, who was later demoted due to a suspended grid penalty from Lausitz.

The Dane got the most out of his car in the shorts stints between the red flag interruptions, which plagued the session. With an early stoppage due to an off-track excursion from Martin Gatz preventing many drivers from completing their runs, the session would later then abruptly end after Maximilian Gunther and Hannes Utsch came together on-track with three minutes to go.

As such, Beer topped the session, giving up race one pole to Picariello. For race two, however, Beer is scheduled to keep pole, with Picariello lining up in second.

Ralph Boschung took third in the session and will share the front row with Picariello in race one. Mucke drivers Kremer and Hendrik Grapp will make up row two, ahead of Jason Kremer and Marvin Dienst.

Stephane Kox inherits seventh, with Stefan Riener alongside her on row four, while Callan O’Keeffe and Fabian Schiller are set to complete the top ten.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nicolas Beer* Neuhauser Racing 2:19.386 7
2 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 2:19.785 +0.399 8
3 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport 2:20.328 +0.942 6
4 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 2:20.494 +1.108 6
5 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 2:21.115 +1.729 7
6 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport 2:21.210 +1.824 8
7 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing 2:21.496 +2.110 8
8 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport 2:21.898 +2.512 8
9 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing 2:22.014 +2.628 7
10 Callan O’Keeffe Lotus 2:22.033 +2.647 5
11 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport 2:22.638 +3.252 8
12 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 2:23.157 +3.771 7
13 Beitske Visser Lotus 2:23.498 +4.112 7
14 Indy Dontje Lotus 2:24.355 +4.969 7
15 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 2:24.812 +5.426 7
16 Mikkel Jensen Lotus 2:25.334 +5.948 7
17 Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport 2:25.564 +6.178 4
18 Kim Giersiepen KSW Motorsport 2:27.803 +8.417 6
19 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering 2:28.651 +9.265 7
20 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering 2:29.981 +10.595 6

* Nicolas Beer will lose ten positions on the grid for race one due to a suspended grid penalty after Lausitz