Home Featured Piastri seals F2 title with podium as Daruvala wins in Abu Dhabi

Piastri seals F2 title with podium as Daruvala wins in Abu Dhabi

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Oscar Piastri made it to the podium from 10th on the grid to seal the Formula 2 title in style while Jehan Daruvala won the opening sprint race in Abu Dhabi.

A good getaway allowed Daruvala to comfortably lead into turn one, while Carlin’s team mate Dan Ticktum dropped behind Virtuosi Racing’s Felipe Drugovich and Hitech GP’s Liam Lawson with a slow start.

In the championship fight, both Prema drivers made up several places. A very aggressive Piastri moved up to sixth from 10th in the opening lap to place himself right behind Shwartzman, who also had gained to spots from seventh.

The Prema duo kept moving up in the order as Shwartzman tried to get into the top three to stay alive in the championship fight. However, Piastri wouldn’t let him go. The Australian overtook first Ticktum and then Lawson shortly after his team mate had gone past them.

On lap 12, Drugovich attempted to pass Daruvala for the lead of the race. Both went side by side through the new turn nine, with Daruvala holding on to the lead after a close battle. This allowed both Premas to close the gap, but the Italian team’s cars would never be an actual threat to the leading pair.

After several laps of pressure, Piastri went into the inside of Shwartzman in turn six on lap 20. The Russian tried to regain the place going down to turn nine, but couldn’t. Piastri could therefore celebrate his championship on the podium, the first he’s scored in an opening sprint race this season.

Behind the leading pack, very few battles took place on the new layout. After a stellar performance yesterday in qualifying, MP Motorsport’s Jack Doohan could only be 11th. A slow start dropped him outside the top ten, and despite being close to DAMS’ Marcus Armstrong in the closing laps, a move to take race two pole position wasn’t possible.

Race results (23 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 38m33.605s
2 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi 2.079
3 Oscar Piastri Prema 2.915
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema 3.581
5 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 11.243
6 Dan Ticktum Carlin 12.978
7 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 14.120
8 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 15.595
9 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 17.081
10 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 17.539
11 Jack Doohan MP Motorsport 18.530
12 Juri Vips Hitech GP 19.270
13 Bent Viscaal Trident 22.226
14 Roy Nissany DAMS 29.927
15 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 32.099
16 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 32.636
17 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 37.036
18 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 48.948
19 Marino Sato Trident 54.333
20 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m43.561
Ret Jake Hughes HWA Racelab
Ret Richard Verschoor Charouz Racing System
Fastest lap: Caldwell, 1m39.070s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 227.5   2 Shwartzman 170   3 Zhou 150   Ticktum 143.5   5 Pourchaire 126   6 Vips 116   Daruvala 111   8 Lawson 99   9 Drugovich 84   10  Verschoor 55