Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Parsons wins race two as Munro clinches FMCS title

Parsons wins race two as Munro clinches FMCS title

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: Formula Masters China

Photo: Formula Masters China

Australian driver Jake Parsons won his third race of the season, while KCMG driver James Munro secured the title with a fifth-place finish in the penultimate race of the 2014 FMCS season at Shanghai.

Munro started from pole ahead of Parsons, but it was the Meritus driver who got the better start, darting past the Kiwi on the main straight. Munro tried to regain the lead, but went off the track in the process and lost out to Philip Hamprecht and Dan Wells.

Munro then didn’t to keep his closest rival Matthew Solomon behind, but finishing just a place behind the Eurasia driver was enough for him to clinch the crown.

Hamprecht kept Wells at bay for second, securing the first podium of his part-time campaign. Solomon and Munro followed close behind in fourth and fifth as Darma Hutomo claimed sixth for Humpuss, ahead of Ronald Wu and Pu Jun Jin. Yuja Motojima and series newcomer Aidan Read completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Parsons Meritus GP 7 laps in 15:02.545
2 Philip Hamprecht Super License +1.048
3 Dan Wells KCMG +1.828
4 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +2.521
5 James Munro KCMG +3.195
6 Darma Hutomo Humpuss Junior Racing Team +4.119
7 Ronald Wu Zen Motorsport +5.494
8 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +6.573
9 Yuja Motojima Super License +11.122
10 Aidan Read Eurasia Motorsport +11.492
11 Hua Miao Eurasia Motorsport +15.040
12 Bao Jin Long Zen Motorsport +15.417
13 Yuan Bo Eurasia Motorsport +18.247
Not classified
Yasuo Senna Iriawan Humpuss Junior Racing Team +6 laps
Yin Hai Tao Zen Motorsport +6 laps
Andersen Martono Meritus GP +7 laps