Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Parry storms away to race one victory

Parry storms away to race one victory

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Parry Race Win

Photo: Chris Schotanus

After failing to convert either of his season opener poles to victory at Hockenheim, Matt Parry took his maiden NEC win at Nurburgring, having started in third and taking advantage of lap one mayhem.

It was Oscar Tunjo and Gustav Malja who started ahead of Parry, but lap one wasn’t too kind to them, as Tunjo fell down to third while Malja was involved in a tussle with Jake Dennis, Nicolas Jamin and Roman Mavlanov that ruined the races of the four aforementioned top-ten starters.

Having taken the lead, Parry had an absolutely faultless race, holding Esteban Ocon at bay for thirteen laps. Ocon himself faced a challenge from fellow Lotus junior Tunjo, but managed to hold on to second.

A calm, quiet race from Aurelien Panis saw him take fourth ahead of Mikko Pakari and Victor Sendin, while Dennis Olsen had his best result yet in seventh. Jack Aitken fought from 20th on the grid to eighth, passing Shahaan Engineer on the penultimate lap, while Kuba Dalewski rounded out the top ten. Ryan Tveter and Andrea Pizzitola were both fighting for top ten positions, but a lap seven incident prematurely ended their races.

Caterham junior Parry will have an excellent chance to add to his win tally this afternoon, starting from pole in the second Nurburgring race. His victory in race one ensures that he now leads the championship, with non-regular Ocon three points behind.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 13 laps in 25:38.050
2 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team +1.036
3 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +1.642
4 Aurelien Panis RC Formula +7.558
5 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports +13.112
6 Victor Sendin AV Formula +14.949
7 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +16.259
8 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +16.672
9 Shahaan Engineer Fortec Motorsports +17.239
10 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +25.500
11 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports +26.301
12 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +28.450
13 Erik Johansson KEO Racing +32.726
14 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +39.731
15 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +40.657
16 Roman Mavlanov RC Formula +41.021
17 Patric Armand Fortec Motorsports +46.053
18 Jakub Smiechowski Euro Interpol +46.610
19 Fran Rueda AV Formula +47.775
20 Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition +48.392
21 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +50.021
22 Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing +57.949
23 Miika Laiho PositiOne Motorsport +58.670
24 Christian Malcharek Krenek Motorsport +1:00.362
25 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +1:00.459
26 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +1:15.171
27 Simon Stoller SL Formula +1:20.002
28 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +1 lap
29 Alex Baron ART Junior Team +1 lap
Not classifed
? Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition +7 laps
? Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +7 laps
? Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports +11 laps
? Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +12 laps
? Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +13 laps
? Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +13 laps