Home Featured O’Sullivan leads Prema 1-2 in FIA F3’s Hungaroring feature race

O’Sullivan leads Prema 1-2 in FIA F3’s Hungaroring feature race

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Zak O’Sullivan claimed a lights-to-flag victory ahead of Prema team-mate Dino Beganovic in FIA Formula 3’s feature race at the Hungaroring.

The race was initially scheduled to last 24 laps, but on Saturday it was shortened to 19 laps due to concerns over tyre durability.

Starting from pole, O’Sullivan kept the race under control after to comfortably take his fourth win of 2023. Beganovic followed from the beginning to the end without ever being a threat to O’Sullivan’s lead, which was up to five seconds with two laps to go.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto completed the podium after overtaking Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli, who had started third, halfway through the race.

Despite several fights, all the top 10 drivers held on to their starting position at the end of lap one. Behind them, Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti moved up two places from 13th on the grid, and soon gained another spot on ART Grand Prix’s Nikola Tsolov to get inside the points-scoring places.

At the front, O’Sullivan opened a two-second gap over Beganovic, who was also over two seconds ahead of Fornaroli.

On lap eight, Colapinto took advantage of Fornaroli’s lack of pace and overtook him. Oliver Goethe also drove past his Trident team-mate, who dropped one more place to Prema’s Paul Aron two laps later.

Marti continued to progress with strong pace and no sign of tyre degradation. On lap 13, he passed Trident’s championship leader Gabriel Bortoleto for seventh place and moved ahead of Fornaroli the following lap. Fornaroli continued to suffer and also dropped behind his team-mate.

Further down the top 10 there were four drivers doing battle. MP’s Jonny Edgar passed Campos’s Christian Mansell for ninth place and went on to overtake Fornaroli with one lap to go. Mansell then lost the last point to Edgar’s team-mate Mari Boya, who had previously overtaken Hitech GP’s Luke Browning.

Race result (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 31m27.598s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema +2.320s
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +6.471s
4 Oliver Goethe Trident +13.276s
5 Paul Aron Prema +19.068s
6 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +20.272s
7 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +27.734s
8 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport +27.844s
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +29.855s
10 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +30.585s
11 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +35.615s
12 Luke Browning Hitech GP +36.764s
13 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +36.948s
14 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +37.161s
15 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +37.681s
16 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP +37.987s
17 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +49.097s
18 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +54.344s
19 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing +55.451s
20 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz +57.491s
21 Max Esterson Carlin +58.661s
22 Ido Cohen Carlin +1m04.788s
23 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +1m05.415s
24 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP +1m09.357s
25 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +1m10.950s
26 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +1m12.726s
27 Ollie Gray Carlin +1m14.245s
28 Michael Shin PHM by Charouz +1m19.452s
29 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +1m24.896s
Ret Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix
Fastest lap: O’Sullivan, 1m35.685s

Championship standings
Bortoleto 144  2 O’Sullivan 101   3 Marti 100   4 Aron 94   5 Beganovic 94   6 Colapinto 93   7 Mini 87   8 Goethe 66   9 Fornaroli 64   10 Saucy 52