Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Oscar Piastri takes Formula Renault Eurocup pole at Nurburgring

Oscar Piastri takes Formula Renault Eurocup pole at Nurburgring

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series / DPPI

Formula Renault Eurocup championship leader Oscar Piastri took pole for race one at the Nurburgring in a session interrupted by a scary crash.

With five minutes left of qualifying, the sole FA Racing by Drivex car of championship debutant Alex Karkosik spun out after his right-rear wheel detached itself while he was travelling at speed. The session was stopped as a result

The lost wheel bounced along the circuit for a considerable distance, while Karkosik safely stopped his car just off track.

R-ace GP held the top three positions before the red flag, with Alexander Smolyar leading Piastri and Caio Collet. Their MP Motorsport title rivals Victor Martins and Lorenzo Colombo were just behind, with M2 Competition’s Kush Maini completing the top six.

When the session restarted, the remaining cars all returned to the circuit at once and track position proved troublesome. At the front of the field was Piastri, whose traffic-free run enabled him to go to the top of the times with a 1m55.695s lap.

Collet also improved, while Smolyar, Martins and Colombo were all caught out and shuffled down the order.

Arden’s Patrik Pasma and Alex Quinn, another debutant, worked together to qualifying second and fourth, sandwiching Bhaitech driver Petr Ptacek.

Maini also managed to improve to qualify fifth, just ahead of Collet who was the last driver within a second of Piastri.

Smolyar and Martins sank to seventh and eighth, with Colombo falling even further down to 14th.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 1m55.695s
2 Patrik Pasma Arden +0.776s
3 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +0.808s
4 Alex Quinn Arden +0.928s
5 Kush Maini M2 Competition +0.948s
6 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.971s
7 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP +1.066s
8 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +1.144s
9 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport +1.238s
10 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +1.307s
11 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +1.417s
12 Patrick Schott M2 Competition +1.440s
13 Frank Bird Arden +1.478s
14 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +1.638s
15 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +1.639s
16 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +2.051s
17 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +2.419s
18 Alex Karkosik FA Racing by Drivex +6.800s