Home News Nolan Siegel tops first Indy Pro 2000 practice session of 2022

Nolan Siegel tops first Indy Pro 2000 practice session of 2022

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

DEForce Racing’s Nolan Siegel has begun the Indy Pro 2000 season by setting the free practice pace on Thursday in St. Petersburg.

While the series’ car has been upgraded to include the halo cockpit protection device, the gaps were as close as ever on the timesheet and the half-hour session ended with the top three separated by less than a 50th of a second.

Last year’s title runner-up Braden Eves was the pacesetter halfway through the session, sitting ahead of Siegel by almost two tenths, but when the pace improved by half a second late on he was shuffled down the order.

Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Reece Gold went top with 10 minutes to go, bettering Eves by a tenth, then Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks went 0.0148 seconds faster than Gold.

Siegel then knocked 0.0395s off that benchmark with seven minutes remaining, only for Gold’s team-mate Enaam Ahmed to then go top by 0.143s.

The response from Siegel after that was a 1m10.4350s lap that put him 0.0111s clear, then after the chequered flag there was personal bests from Exclusive’s Louis Foster and Brooks.

Euroformula runner-up Foster was just 0.0041s shy of Siegel, who came eighth in USF2000 last year, while Brooks was a miniscule 0.0007s slower than his team-mate.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m10.4350s 22
2 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m10.4391s +0.0041s 22
3 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport 1m10.4398s +0.0048s 22
4 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m10.4461s +0.0111s 21
5 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m10.6434s +0.2084s 22
6 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m10.6569s +0.2219s 20
7 Braden Eves JHDD 1m10.6701s +0.2351s 22
8 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD 1m10.7419s +0.3069s 21
9 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m10.9564s +0.5214s 23
10 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m10.9660s +0.5310s 22
11 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 1m11.0729s +0.6379s 23
12 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m11.3970s +0.9620s 20
13 Salvador de Alba JHDD 1m11.4079s +0.9729s 22
14 Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport 1m11.4232s +0.9882s 22
15 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m11.6278s +1.1928s 21
16 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m12.0665s +1.6315s 20