Home News Denmark leads Rowe in Pabst 1-2 in USF2000 St. Petersburg practice

Denmark leads Rowe in Pabst 1-2 in USF2000 St. Petersburg practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Pabst Racing duo Jace Denmark and Myles Rowe were the pacesetters in the first USF2000 practice session of the year in St. Petersburg.

It only took three minutes before red flags were being waved on the street circuit, at which point Rowe was at the top of the times with a 1m18.3810s lap.

When the session restarted the pace quickly dropped, with almost three seconds being cut off the fastest time by DEForce Racing’s Thomas Nepveu.

He didn’t remain at the top for long, with Joe Dooling Autosports’ sophomore Trey Burke knocking a few tenths more off the pace.

Legacy Autosport’s Simon Sikes became the first driver to break into the 1m14s in the second half of the session, and Cape Motorsports’ 2021 runner-up Michael d’Orlando then took the pace down into the 1m13s.

However his team-mates didn’t quite have the same pace. Pabst’s drivers reeled off more laps and lowered the pace further, with Denmark edging Rowe by 0.0549 seconds aftter both improved several times late on, and d’Orlando ended up in third and just ahead of DEForce’s Bijoy Garg.

The other Cape drivers filled the 11th to 13th positions, while propping up the order was Exclusive Autosport’s Jacob Douglas who didn’t set a lap after the red flag.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m13.6344s 17
2 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m13.6893s +0.0549s 15
3 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m13.7998s +0.1654s 16
4 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m13.8100s +0.1756s 16
5 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 1m13.9599s +0.3255s 17
6 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing 1m13.9668s +0.3324s 17
7 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 w/ Ignite Autosport 1m14.2549s +0.6205s 17
8 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing 1m14.3338s +0.6994s 17
9 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport 1m14.5753s +0.9409s 13
10 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m14.5938s +0.9594s 17
11 Jackson Lee Cape Motorsports 1m14.7027s +1.0683s 15
12 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports 1m14.7121s +1.0777s 15
13 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m14.7329s +1.0985s 17
14 Viktor Andersson Velocity Racing Development 1m15.1207s +1.4863s 17
15 Frederik Lund JHDD 1m15.4011s +1.7667s 16
16 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m15.6467s +2.0123s 5
17 Yeoroo Lee JHDD 1m15.7628s +2.1284s 17
18 Jorge Garciarce JHDD 1m15.9080s +2.2736s 17
19 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport 1m21.5490s +7.9146s 1