Home Formula 4GB4 Nikolas Taylor puts Fortec on pole for GB4’s first two races

Nikolas Taylor puts Fortec on pole for GB4’s first two races

by Jordan Edwards

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsports’ Nikolas Taylor will start on pole for the first two races of the new GB4 championship at Snetteton.

Taylor set the fastest lap in qualifying, a 1m48.694s, and also takes pole positon for race two on Sunday based on the second-best laptimes of the qualifying session.

Elite Motorsport’s Alex Walker will fill the front row for both races, having been 0.132 seconds slower than Taylor.

It was a cold start to the season for all the drivers but the track remained dry and gave the best conditions of the week, after two days of pre-event testing, which led to the fastest time being set yet.

Walker and Taylor were quick from with outset, with the former taking provisional pole with his fifth lap but being knocked off top spot by Taylor on his next lap.

The 15-minute session got underway five minutes earlier than scheduled, and Kevin Mills Racing’s duo of Tom Mills and Jarrod Waberski struggled to get the their tyres up to temperature to begin but were the first to set representative laptimes.

The pair will share the second row of the race two grid, with Waberski ahead, but it was Elite’s Ginetta Junior graduate Jack Sherwood who was fourth fastest overall in qualifying and will start behind Waberski for race one.

Graham Brunton Racing’s returned to winged single-seater racing resulted in eighth place for Logan Hannah and 11th for Chloe Grant, although both were over 2s off the pace.

Megan Gikes, racing with Hillspeed for this weekend in a one-off, was pit-bound after one installation lap but returned to the track to go ninth fastest while her team-mate Max Marzorati, also doing a one-off, qualified sixth for both races.

Qualifying results
Race 1 grid
1 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports 1m48.694s
2 Alex Walker Elite Motorsport +0.285s
3 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing +0.482s
4 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport +1.185s
5 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +1.361s
6 Max Marzorati Hillspeed +1.425s
7 Elias Adestam Fortec Motorsports +1.534s
8 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +2.157s
9 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed +2.601s
10 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports +2.986s
11 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing +3.354s
12 Christian Lester Rossoverde Racing +7.370s

Race 2 grid
1 Taylor 1m48.930s
2 Walker +0.132s
3 Waberski +0.692s
4 Mills +1.195s
5 Marzorati +1.205s
6 Adestam +1.317s
7 Sherwood +1.390s
8 Hannah +1.995s
9 Edgar +2.765s
10 Gilkes +3.180s
11 Grant +3.296s
12 Lester +7.356s