Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Neil Maclennan takes victory in third FF1600 race at Snetterton

Neil Maclennan takes victory in third FF1600 race at Snetterton

by Jake Williams-Smith

Neil Maclennan fought off huge pressure from Ross Martin to take victory in the final BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 race at Snetterton.

The race got underway with Clubman driver Max Marzorati leading the way from pole, while F1 Esports champion Brendon Leigh?s difficult day took another turn for the worse as he struggled to get away from the grid down in 17th.

Marzorati was only able to hold off those behind him for so long, as Maclennan made his way past him along with Martin.

Spike Kohlbecker ran wide at the exit of Murray?s coming to the third lap, allowing Cliff Dempsey Racing team-mates James Clarke and Jonathan Browne to close in, setting up a back-and-forth battle for the final podium position for the rest of the race.

Marzorati?s stint at the front came to an end on lap four of eight, spinning into Agostini and holding up the recovery drive of Rory Smith, who had made his way up into the top 10 after a complete rebuild of his car between races two and three.

Martin was able to close right up to Maclennan on the penultimate lap ? setting a Snetterton lap record in the process.?Despite the huge pressure on the final lap, Maclennan held on to take Kevin Mills Racing?s first podium and win of the season.

While the American rookie had the upper hand for much of the race, Kohlbecker finally had to relinquish third to Clarke after he made a move into the final corner on the penultimate lap. He still holds the points lead though, by just one point over Martin.

Smith?s recovery efforts landed him sixth after having started the race down in 15th, while John Svennson won the Clubman class with an eighth place place, finishing just a second ahead of rival Mazorati.


Race results (8 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing 16m32.299s
2 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.115s
3 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +5.726s
4 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +5.850s
5 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +8.722s
6 Rory Smith B-M Racing +10.474s
7 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +15.681s
8 John Svensson John’s Racing Team +23.546s
9 Max Marzorati Team Dolan +25.188s
10 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +40.060s
11 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +42.141s
12 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +47.530s
13 Nicole Woods B-M Racing +59.667s
14 Scott Huntley Oldfield Motorsport +1m02.445s
Ret Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing
Ret Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport
Ret Henry Chart Oldfield Motorsport
Ret Sam Street SamS Motorsport
Ret Klaus-Dieter Haeckel Haeckel Motorsport
Ret Brendon Leigh Kevin Mills Racing
Fastest lap: Martin, 2m02.022s

Championship Standings
Pro? ?1
Kohlbecker 83? ?2 Martin 82? ?3 Maclennan 78? ?4?Smith 52? ?5 Sharp 52? ?6 Browne 50? ?7?Clarke 48? ?8?Macpherson 40? ?9 Quinn 29? ?10 Huntley 25

Clubman? ?1?Marzorati 99? ?2 Svensson 86? ?3 Quartermaine 70???4 Monbaron 68? ?5?Woods 42? ?6?Haeckel 39? ?7 Street 38? ?8 Chart 17