Home Formula 4Italian F4 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi fastest in F4 test at Mugello

Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi fastest in F4 test at Mugello

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

Nadhavud Bhirombhakdi was fastest for PHM Racing in a two-day test for Formula 4 teams at Mugello this week.

Monday and Tuesday were split into four sessions each, and Bhirombhakdi set the pace in the opening session with a 1m50.701s lap. That put him a slim 0.016 seconds ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ivan Domingues and 0.019s ahead of Prema’s Rashid Al Dhaheri. Brando Badoer was 0.174s back in fourth, and James Egozi only 0.286s behind in fifth.

Al Dhaheri lowered the pace to 1m49.300s in session two, and was a third of a second fastest than PHM’s Valentin Kluss who was the next driver. VAR’s Badoer was the only other driver to lap sub-1m50s, and Egozi was fourth fastest and the last driver within a second of the pace.

Egozi set a new 1m49.003s benchmark in session three, and was 0.325s clear of a closely matched group of cars. Kluss was secon fastest, just 0.023s ahead of Badoer, with Davide Larini a further 0.029s behind him and Nikita Johnson another 0.023s back in fifth. This time the top eight all lapped sub-1m50s.

Larini, Ismail Akhmed, Real Racing Team’s driver and the solo BWR Motorsports failed to improve in the day’s final session, which everyone else set their personal best laps in. Bhirombhakdi returned to the fore with a 1m48.634s effot, 0.138s faster than Egozi and 0.201s quicker than Domingues. Three more drivers joined them in breaking the 1m49s barrier.

The laptimes on the second day were considerably slower, with a 2m11.248s lap being the fastest of Tuesday’s opening session. It was even slower in session two, as Badoer led the way after setting a 2m14.441s, and although conditions improved for representative running in the afternoon there was still no improvement on the previous day’s bests.

A 1m49.798s put Badoer 0.059s ahead of Domingues at the top in the penultimate session, then in the final track action of the day he set a 1m49.394s to head Johnson by 0.215s.

Giacomo Pedrini was the fastest driver in an older first-generation F4 car, sitting 12th overall in the test’s combined timesheet and 1.338s off the pace.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nadhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing 1m48.634s 125
2 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m48.772s +0.138s 124
3 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.835s +0.201s 134
4 #38 AKM Motorsport 1m48.885s +0.251s 85
5 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.891s +0.257s 129
6 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m48.976s +0.342s 130
7 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing 1m49.053s +0.419s 136
8 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport 1m49.287s +0.653s 144
9 Nikita Johnson PHM Racing 1m49.310s +0.676s 134
10 Davide Larini AKM Motorsport 1m49.380s +0.746s 132
11 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.615s +0.981s 140
12 Giacomo Pedrini Newman Motorsport 1m49.972s +1.338s 132
13 #93 AS Motorsport 1m50.176s +1.542s 148
14 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing 1m50.581s +1.947s 118
15 Aurelia Nobels Prema 1m51.085s +2.451s 127
16 Ismail Akhmed Van Amersfoort Racing 1m51.215s +2.581s 143
17 #46 Real Racing Team 1m51.275s +2.641s 135
18 #62 AS Motorsport 1m51.399s +2.765s 84
19 #3 BWR Motorsports 1m53.307s +4.673s 122
20 #77 CDM Racing Service 1m54.529s +5.895s 70