Home Formula 3Brazil F3 Moraes leads F3 Brazil wet first practice at Interlagos

Moraes leads F3 Brazil wet first practice at Interlagos

by Felipe Giacomelli
Lukas Moraes

Photo: Duda Bairros/Vicar

Lukas Moraes set the pace this Friday in a rain-affected first practice for this weekend’s F3 Brazil round at Interlagos.

With five minutes left, the Prop Car man achieved the time of 1m53.908s and immediately jumped to the first place. Moraes was also helped by a late red flag, which ended the session prematurely.

Vitor Baptista was second, 0.610s behind with his Dallara F301. The Cesario driver was the first man to set a competitive time, but was demoted quickly. He managed to regain pace, but wasn?t enough to stop Moraes.

Filling in for Raphael Raucci this weekend in R&R Weissach?s machinery, Renan Guerra debuted in series with third place, followed by another newcomer, Nicholas Silva. The American-born driver raced in some rounds last year in Formula 3 Sudamericana, but only now was able to close a deal to take part in remaining rounds in 2014.

Another R&R driver, Victor Miranda was fifth, followed by points-leader Pedro Piquet. Matheus Leist, Matheus Iorio, Sergio Sette C?mara and Mauro Auricchio rounded out the top ten.

Due to the tricky conditions, most drivers opted to do only a quick installation lap. However, wet track time can come in play, as the weather forecast appoints rain for this weekend.

Session results
Pos Driver? Team Time? Gap? Laps?
1 Lukas Moraes A Prop Car Racing 1:53.908 9
2 Vitor Baptista B Cesario F3 1:54.518 0.610 5
3 Renan Guerra A RR Weissach Racing 1:54.911 1.003 5
4 Nicholas Silva B RR/Capital Racing 1:56.199 2.291 8
5 Victor Miranda B RR Weissach Racing 1:58.227 4.319 2
6 Pedro Piquet A Cesario F3 1:59.366 5.458 5
7 Matheus Leist B Cesario F3 2:01.064 7.156 4
8 Matheus Iorio B Hitech Racing 2:02.137 8.229 5
9 Sergio Sette Camara A Cesario F3 2:02.896 8.988 4
10 Mauro Auricchio B RR Weissach Racing 2:04.110 10.202 7
11 Arthur Fortunato A RR Weissach Racing 2:07.532 13.624 4
12 Leonardo de Souza A Kemba Racing 2:08.156 14.248 5
13 Arthur Oliveira A Hitech Racing 2:08.632 14.724 5
14 Fernando Croce A Prop Car Racing 2:10.779 16.871 3
15 Bruno Etman A Hitech Racing 2:25.017 31.109 4
16 Ricardo Landucci B Prop Car Racing No time 2