Home Formula 4Italian F4 Mini wins, Red Bull juniors collide in Italian F4 race three at Mugello

Mini wins, Red Bull juniors collide in Italian F4 race three at Mugello

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Gabriele Mini extended his Italian Formula 4 points lead with victory in race three at Mugello.

Mini overtook team-mate and poleman Gabriel Bortoleto on the run to the first corner, where Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran went off at speed into the gravel but managed to return to track by staying on the throttle.

Bortoleto didn’t try coming back at Mini in the first few laps, but got handed an opportunity to reclaim the lead when the safety car was called out due to a crash between old karting team-mates Cenyu Han and Lorenzo Patrese.

Mini made a strong restart, and Bortoleto was immediately exposed to Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jonny Edgar behind. The Red Bull junior tried going around the outside of the first corner, but ended up being pushed down the order as Bortoleto got loose under braking and careered into him.

The top two positions therefore remained unchanged, but Mini was clear and he led his team-mate home to take his third win of the season. Dino Beganovic finished third on the road to make it an all-Prema podium, and was promoted to second when Bortoleto was handed a five-second penalty.

Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso finished fourth, and spent the second half of the race mostly under pressure from VAR trio Jak Crawford, Francesco Pizzi and Edgar. Pizzi started 16th on the grid and made a lot of early progress, but could not find a way past Crawford.

When he eventually did at Turn 15 with a few laps to go, he quickly closed in on Rosso and finished just behind his championship rival.

Edgar went for a move on fellow Red Bull junior Crawford at Turn 3 on the penultimate lap, but when he got ahead Crawford misjudged the distance between the pair and broke his front wing on one of Edgar’s tyres. Both sank down the order, with Bhaitech’s Zdenek Chovanec ending up holding off Prema’s Sebastian Montoya to finish sixth.

Jesse Salmenautio beat Francesco Simonazzi to eighth, while Ugran recovered impressively to 11th.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 32m58.776s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema +1.194s
3 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +5.647s
4 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +7.871s
5 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +8.145s
6 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech +14.538s
7 Sebastian Montoya Prema +14.792s
8 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +15.700s
9 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing +16.794s
10 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +18.860s
11 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +18.887s
12 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +18.913s
13 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +20.119s
14 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +20.539s
15 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +20.594s
16 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport +21.243s
17 Kirill Smal Prema +22.547s
18 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +25.178s
19 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +26.314s
20 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +27.131s
21 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +27.410s
22 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +28.156s
23 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +28.638s
24 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport +20.526s
25 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +50.731s
26 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport
Ret Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport
Ret Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m48.125s

Championship Standings
1 Mini 196   2 Rosso 121   3 Pizzi 117   4 Edgar 107   5 Beganovic 104   6 Ugran 101   7 Bortoleto 92   8 Crawford 85   9 Montoya 45   10 Joshua Duerksen 43