Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Mini tops messy rain-hit F3 practice in Monaco

Mini tops messy rain-hit F3 practice in Monaco

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Gabriele Mini led a heavily disrupted Formula 3 practice session in Monaco as red flags and rain limited running ahead of Friday’s qualifying.

Last year’s Monaco polesitter and feature race winner Mini went fastest early on with a time of 1m27.400s, 0.091 seconds ahead of Leonardo Fornaroli.

That was before the first interruption less than 10 minutes into the 45-minute session when Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak went straight on into the barriers at Sainte Devote.

There was no chance to improve times at the restart before Callum Voisin had a similar incident at the first corner, triggering another red flag. His Rodin team-mate Joseph Loake also went straight on but was able to use the escape road to get his car spun around and continue.

The rain began to fall as the session resumed once more with 23 minutes remaining.

Some drivers did still manage to improve their times, with Dino Beganovic moving up to third and Sami Meguetounif jumping up to fourth before he lost control spectacularly on the approach to Ste Devote.

The Imola feature race winner slid across the inside of the corner and hit the barrier with his left-rear wheel, breaking his suspension.

That caused another red flag, with 13 minutes left on the clock when cars returned to the track on wet tyres.

While times were some way off the dry pace, the rest of the session did unfold without further interruption. Arvid Lindblad did run deep down the escape road at Mirabeau but managed to continue after a several-point-turn, while fellow Red Bull junior Tim Tramnitz went off at Ste Devote but could spin around and rejoin.

James Hedley made his F3 debut with Jenzer Motorsport after his last-minute call-up to replace Matias Zagazeta and finished up 17th.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m27.400s 19
2 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m27.491s +0.091s 19
3 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m28.669s +1.269s 19
4 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m29.421s +2.021s 10
5 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m29.739s +2.339s 8
6 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m29.751s +2.351s 18
7 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m29.900s +2.500s 16
8 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m30.222s +2.822s 18
9 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m30.432s +3.032s 18
10 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m30.726s +3.326s 18
11 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing 1m30.895s +3.495s 18
12 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m31.299s +3.899s 20
13 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m31.719s +4.319s 18
14 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m31.996s +4.596s 18
15 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m32.201s +4.801s 17
16 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.923s +5.523s 18
17 James Hedley Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.231s +5.831s 16
18 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m33.525s +6.125s 19
19 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing 1m34.280s +6.880s 19
20 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.762s +7.362s 17
21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.775s +8.375s 16
22 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.961s +8.561s 15
23 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.015s +9.615s 16
24 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m37.760s +10.360s 16
25 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m38.053s +10.653s 18
26 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m38.583s +11.183s 17
27 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m39.931s +12.531s 16
28 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m40.419s +13.019s 17
29 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m41.683s +14.283s 16
30 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing 1m42.854s +15.454s 5