Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Mini starts second pre-season FREC test on top

Mini starts second pre-season FREC test on top

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini set the pace in both sessions on the first day of Formula Regional European Championship pre-season testing at Paul Ricard.

Mini was on top through most of the morning session, setting an early 1m58.053s benchmark that kept him on top until two-and-a-half hours into the day’s running when MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov set a 1m57.591s.

On Mini’s next run he reclaimed first with a 1m57.538s, and followed that up with a 1m57.226s. A late 1m58.838s effort from Prema’s Paul Aron put him in third, with R-ace GP’s Gabriel Bortoleto fourth ahead of ART GP’s Mari Boya who had been in second during the second hour of running and set his personal best at the same time as Mini.

The third ART GP car of Laurens van Hoepen was sixth fastest, and he and Boya missed the afternoon.

MP’s Dilano van’t Hoff also spent time as Mini’s closest opponent on pace, but his time in second was brief and a flurry of late laps from across the field meant he was shuffled down to 11th place.

Tim Tramnitz was fastest for Trident at first in the afternoon, but much of that session featured Aron at the top. He set a 1m58.383s that went unbeaten for two hours and 15 minutes until Bortoleto broke into the 1m57s.

Mini was next to beat that barrier and set a session-topping 1m57.707s lap with 18 minutes to to go. Belov was a late improver to be second fastest again, and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort was fourth and the fastest driver to improve on their morning pace.

There were 21 improvers, with R-ace’s Lorenzo Fluxa rising from 22nd to 13th in the overall leaderboard.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m57.226s
2 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m57.591s +0.365s
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m57.838s +0.612s
4 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m57.904s +0.678s
5 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m57.962s +0.736s
6 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m58.019s +0.793s
7 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m58.058s +0.832s
8 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m58.080s +0.854s
9 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m58.228s +1.002s
10 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m58.271s +1.045s
11 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m58.344s +1.118s
12 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m58.356s +1.130s
13 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m58.362s +1.136s
14 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m58.408s +1.182s
15 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m58.411s +1.185s
16 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m58.434s +1.208s
17 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m58.449s +1.223s
18 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m58.460s +1.234s
19 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m58.511s +1.285s
20 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m58.528s +1.302s
21 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m58.589s +1.363s
22 Noel Leon Arden 1m58.649s +1.423s
23 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m58.669s +1.443s
24 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m58.681s +1.455s
25 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m58.688s +1.462s
26 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m58.694s +1.468s
27 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m58.710s +1.484s
28 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m58.964s +1.738s
29 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m59.007s +1.781s
30 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m59.096s +1.870s
31 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.307s +2.081s
32 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m59.508s +2.282s
33 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m59.556s +2.330s
34 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m59.580s +2.354s
35 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m59.671s +2.445s
36 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m59.917s +2.691s
37 Abbi Pulling MP Motorsport 2m00.068s +2.842s
38 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 2m00.125s +2.899s
39 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 2m00.182s +2.956s