Home Featured Mini leads Prema 1-2 at Barcelona in afternoon on day one of FIA F3 test

Mini leads Prema 1-2 at Barcelona in afternoon on day one of FIA F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Prema’s Gabriele Mini was fastest in the second session of FIA Formula 3’s post-season Barcelona test.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon topped the times at the very start of the three-hour afternoon session, before team-mate Sophia Floersch and then Campos Racing’s Sebastian Montoya and Mari Boya lowered the pace.

Just 15 seconds after Boya got the top he was shuffled down to second as Trident’s Oliver Goethe set a 1m28.656s.

It took until 12 minutes in for more than 10 drivers to have set a lap, and the drivers who headed out around that time were all more than three seconds slower than Goethe.

By the 19-minute mark the picture looked a bit better with 21 of the 30 drivers having a laptime next to their name, and Prema trio Dino Beganovic, Mini and Arvid Lindblad went third, fourth and fifth fastest.

After half an hour there were still no laptimes from the Hitech GP drivers, and Boya had usurped Goethe by 0.1 seconds.

Most had returned to the pits three quarters of an hour in, and only Prema was out on track at the one-hour mark. It took until some time after that for Hitech’s drivers to leave the pits, and they slotted into seventh, eighth and ninth places before returning to the pits.

The track was all but empty until the Hitech drivers went for some more laps halfway through the session, with Browning rising to third place with a 1m28.730s.

It was silent again 10 minutes later, and approaching the final hour a few drivers did some outlaps then mosted head out once the clock starting ticking down from 60. But most were back in their garages after 15 minutes, and the only noticable change to the timesheet was ART Grand Prix’s Christian Mansell completing a top 10 who had lapped sub-1m30s.

With 25 minutes to go there was finally another improvement in pace at the top, as Mini went fastest by 0.029s and Trident’s Sami Meguetounif set a 1m28.808s to rise up to sixth place. But then the track emptied again.

Mini found more pace when he headed back out with seven minutes to go, setting a 1m28.368s. Beganovic and Fornaroli also improved to knock Boya down to fourth place, and Meguetounif found another one-and-a-half tenths of a second on before to go fifth fastest and knock Goethe down another spot.

Lauens van Hoepen was another late improver in eighth place, ahead of Lindblad and ART Grand Prix team-mate Nikola Tsolov. In total 17 drivers met the chequered flag.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m28.368s 24
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m28.480s +0.112s 26
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m28.553s +0.185s 34
4 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m28.556s +0.188s 37
5 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m28.655s +0.287s 32
6 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m28.656s +0.288s 37
7 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m28.730s +0.362s 30
8 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m28.792s +0.424s 40
9 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m28.844s +0.476s 27
10 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m28.911s +0.543s 36
11 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM Racing 1m28.914s +0.546s 48
12 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m28.954s +0.586s 40
13 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m29.005s +0.637s 47
14 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m29.040s +0.672s 37
15 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.128s +0.760s 30
16 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.202s +0.834s 37
17 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m29.215s +0.847s 35
18 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m29.239s +0.871s 44
19 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m29.248s +0.880s 52
20 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m29.252s +0.884s 47
21 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing 1m29.285s +0.917s 47
22 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m29.331s +0.963s 29
23 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.405s +1.037s 35
24 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.422s +1.054s 30
25 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin 1m29.451s +1.083s 35
26 Emmo Fittipaldi MP Motorsport 1m29.502s +1.134s 47
27 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m29.666s +1.298s 30
28 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m29.984s +1.616s 36
29 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.135s +1.767s 37
30 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.897s +2.529s 37