Home Featured Goethe gaps himself from opposition on second morning of F3 test

Goethe gaps himself from opposition on second morning of F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe set a pace that could not be matched on the second morning of FIA Formula 3’s post-season Barcelona test.

Unlike on Tuesday it was a very busy track early on in the three-hour session, with 25 drivers on track at the 10-minute mark. Goethe was fastest with a 1m27.710s, 0.290 seconds ahead of team-mate Mari Boya, then with a group of drivers lapping in the 1m28s. In total 23 drivers had set flying laps, and 27 recording laps of any kind.

But just a few minutes later almost everyone was back in the pits, and after 21 minutes the only two drivers on track were Hadrien David and Emmo Fittipaldi who were yet to put laptimes next to their names on the timesheet.

Red flags waved 32 minutes in due to Jenzer Motorsport’s Charlie Wurz hitting trouble in the first sector, and at that point Prema’s Gabriele Mini was fastest with a 1m27.034s laptime. Goetge was 0.091s behind in second, Boya was a further 0.274s back in third and Prema’s Arvid Lindblad was fourth fastest.

The session resumed after 44 minutes had passed on the clock, and it took a further 10 minutes for drivers to get up to pace. Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli went third fastest with a 1m27.382s, and Lindblad improved to 1m27.636s in fifth.

Goethe returned to first place before the next red flag stoppage 72 minutes in, and his 1m26.675s would prove to be the morning’s fastest lap. Fornaroli had made another improvement to 1m27.261s by that point, and Boya had set a 1m27.261s in fourth to edge ART Grand Prix’s Laurens van Hoepen who was the cause of the flags as he came to a stop in sector two.

Few drivers lowered their pace in the session’s second half once action resumed, meaning Goethe would end up on top by 0.359s over Mini and with Fornaroli 0.586s behind in third. Mini was one of six drivers to be active when the chequered flag waved. Also active was team-mate Dino Beganovic, who surprisingly ended the session 1.814s off the pace down in 28th place.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m26.675s 31
2 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m27.034s +0.359s 48
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m27.261s +0.586s 41
4 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m27.287s +0.612s 31
5 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m27.296s +0.621s 19
6 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m27.362s +0.687s 41
7 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.494s +0.819s 33
8 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m27.622s +0.947s 45
9 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m27.636s +0.961s 49
10 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m27.636s +0.961s 46
11 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m27.652s +0.977s 29
12 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m27.681s +1.006s 24
13 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m27.698s +1.023s 44
14 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m27.775s +1.100s 43
15 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing 1m27.841s +1.166s 30
16 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin 1m27.915s +1.240s 25
17 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m27.946s +1.271s 28
18 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m27.953s +1.278s 30
19 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.012s +1.337s 36
20 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.015s +1.340s 10
21 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m28.019s +1.344s 27
22 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.089s +1.414s 32
23 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.264s +1.589s 21
24 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m28.396s +1.721s 24
25 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m28.404s +1.729s 13
26 Emmo Fittipaldi MP Motorsport 1m28.438s +1.763s 29
27 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM Racing 1m28.444s +1.769s 31
28 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m28.489s +1.814s 10
29 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m28.536s +1.861s 42
30 Nikhil Bohra Carlin 1m28.845s +2.170s 35