Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Mini fastest again in FREC’s pre-season Barcelona test

Mini fastest again in FREC’s pre-season Barcelona test

by Jordan Edwards

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini once again topped the times on the second day of Formula Regional European Championship pre-season testing at Barcelona.

The morning session had limited running in the first hour with only the three Trident drivers Roman Bilinski, Leonardo Fornaroli and Tim Tramnitz taking to the track as the session began. After an hour, less than half of the field had gone out.

There were a number of interruptions to running, the first as G4 Racing’s Matias Zagazeta stopped on track in sector one after topping the times for a short while, then a second red flag a little while later as KIC Motorsport’s Piotr Wisnicki stopped while he was at the top of the order.

R-ace GP’s Lena Buhler caused the third, G4’s Belen Garcia the fourth, and Monolite Racing’s Pietro Armanni the fifth red flag period. Bilinski then brought the morning to an early end as the last red flag lasted until the clock stopped.

MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov was fastest with an hour to go, before Prema’s Paul Aron and then Mini quickly bettered him. Mini improved to end the session with a 1m40.503s, putting him 0.161 seconds ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort in second place.

There was little action in the afternoon session, with Prema’s Sebastian Montoya on top after the first hour. Zagazeta set a 1m40.674s lap shortly after that stood as the session’s fastest, with few improvements from anyone after that and another Armanni-caused red flag

The top two were among 14 drivers who were faster in the afternoon, including KIC’s drivers and MP’s Abbi Pulling who were unable to lap at a representative pace on day one.

Additional reporting by Ida Wood

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m40.503s 54
2 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.664s +0.161s 58
3 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m40.674s +0.171s 66
4 Paul Aron Prema 1m40.748s +0.245s 74
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m40.835s +0.332s 69
6 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m40.890s +0.387s 66
7 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m41.000s +0.497s 42
8 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m41.019s +0.516s 77
9 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m41.058s +0.555s 64
10 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m41.116s +0.613s 57
11 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m41.125s +0.623s 72
12 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m41.133s +0.630s 43
13 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m41.176s +0.673s 55
14 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m41.179s +0.676s 61
15 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m41.293s +0.790s 58
16 Noel Leon Arden 1m41.308s +0.805s 53
17 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m41.320s +0.817s 58
18 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m41.349s +0.846s 50
19 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m41.372s +0.869s 48
20 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m41.502s +0.999s 59
21 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m41.508s +1.005s 43
22 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m41.534s +1.031s 35
23 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m41.575s +1.072s 69
24 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m41.585s +1.082s 55
25 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m41.646s +1.143s 48
26 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m41.677s +1.174s 55
27 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m41.712s +1.209s 44
28 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m41.757s +1.254s 68
29 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m41.778s +1.275s 54
30 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m41.853s +1.350s 64
31 Abbi Pulling MP Motorsport 1m41.947s +1.404s 56
32 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.060s +1.557s 61
33 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m42.274s +1.771s 65
34 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m42.302s +1.799s 36
35 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m42.350s +1.847s 69
36 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m42.457s +1.954s 68
37 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m42.510s +2.007s 57
38 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m42.543s +2.040s 75
39 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m42.753s +2.250s 58
40 Juju Noda R-P-M 1m42.976s +2.473s 71