Home Formula 4GB4 Mills takes fine GB4 win number nine at Brands Hatch

Mills takes fine GB4 win number nine at Brands Hatch

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

KMR Sport’s Tom Mills edged closer to the GB4 title with a record-equalling ninth win of the season in the opening race at Brands Hatch.

Mills quickly asserted his advantage from pole to lead into Paddock Hill Bend from Liam McNeilly, while Cooper Webster passed the slow-starting Zack Ping for third.

Colin Queen also made it by fellow American Ping one corner later with a move around the outside, the Fortec Motorsports driver also briefly drawing alongside Webster before slotting into fourth.

Mills controlled the remainder of the 13-lap contest, edging almost 1.5 seconds clear of McNeilly, with the gap halved to 0.768s at the chequered flag.

Webster was a further 1.8s back in third for Evans GP, while Queen came home a distant fourth.

The only incident of note came when Ping spun on the exit of Sheene Curve and dropped to 13th, with Elite Motorsport’s Josh Irfan gaining one spot to fifth as a result. KMR’s Jack Clifford finished just behind Irfan, but was demoted to 10th by a time penalty.

Sid Smith climbed from ninth on the grid to sixth ahead of Graham Brunton Racing’s Harry Burgoyne Jr, while Fortec’s Aditya Kulkarni recovered from an early error at Clarke Curve to edge Kai Daryanani to ninth.

Seb Murray finished 11th on his debut with GBR.

Race result (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tom Mills KMR Sport 18m34.006s
2 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport +0.768s
3 Cooper Webster Evans GP +2.573s
4 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +9.218s
5 Josh Irfan Elite Motorsport +15.848s
6 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport +16.663s
7 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing +18.530s
8 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +25.943s
9 Kai Daryanani Evans GP +26.254s
10 Jack Clifford KMR Sport +31.058s
11 Seb Murray Graham Brunton Racing +41.551s
12 Dylan Hotchin +54.520s
13 Zack Ping Velocity Racing Development +54.743s
14 Thomas Lee Evans GP +1 lap
Fastest lap: Webster, 1m24.902s

Championship standings
1 Mills 457   2 Webster 348   3 McNeilly 308   4 Queen 295   5 Jeremy Fairbairn 190   6 Burgoyne 190   7 Kulkarni 185   8 Clifford 175   9 Ruhaan Alva 165   10 Smith 155