Home Formula 4GB4 Mills takes double pole in GB4’s Brands Hatch qualifying

Mills takes double pole in GB4’s Brands Hatch qualifying

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: GB4

GB4 points leader Tom Mills produced another dominant display in qualifying at Brands Hatch to seal pole for races one and two.

The KMR Sport driver, who will wrap up the title with a round to spare this weekend if his rivals fail to outscore him, finished the 15-minute session 0.166 seconds clear of Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly, while Velocity Racing Development’s Zack Ping impressed with third in his second GB4 meeting.

Cooper Webster led the way initially for Evans GP, before Mills took over the top after five minutes.  Mills soon knocked 0.4s off his benchmark and continued to improve, his best lap of 1m24.782s coming with four minutes remaining.

That gave him a 0.6s advantage over Ping, who was then demoted from second by Webster. McNeilly went quicker than the pair while reducing Mills’ pole margin to 0.4s, and he then improved further on his final lap.

Ping also improved as the chequered flag fell to pip Webster to third, with Colin Queen fifth ahead of British Formula 4 race-winner Josh Irfan and Jack Clifford.

McNeilly and Ping will also line up behind Mills in race two, with Webster and Queen again fourth and fifth. Harry Burgoyne Jr qualified sixth for Graham Brunton Racing, and his debuting team-mate Seb Murray was 12th fastest and not within 103% of the race one pole time as he was three seconds off the pace.

Qualifying round-up
Race 1 grid
1 Tom Mills KMR Sport 1m24.782s
2 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport +0.166s
3 Zack Ping Velocity Racing Development +0.423s
4 Cooper Webster Evans GP +0.532s
5 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +0.675s
6 Josh Irfan Elite Motorsport +0.807s
7 Jack Clifford KMR Sport +0.905s
8 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing +1.004s
9 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport +1.072s
10 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +1.436s

Race 2 grid
1 Mills 1m24.787s
2 McNeilly +0.358s
3 Ping +0.626s
4 Webster +0.635s
5 Queen +0.975s
6 Burgoyne +1.061s
7 Irfan +1.149s
8 Clifford +1.335s
9 Smith +1.341s
10 Kai Daryanani Evans GP +1.746s