Home Formula 4GB4 McNeilly wins from ninth in reversed-grid Oulton Park GB4 race

McNeilly wins from ninth in reversed-grid Oulton Park GB4 race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly charged up the order to win the final GB4 race of the weekend in damp conditions at Oulton Park.

McNeilly’s team-mate Sid Smith snatched the lead off the line after squeezing through the middle of front-row starters Aditya Kulkarni and Jack Clifford, with a poor getaway costing Elite Motorsport’s Kulkarni many positions.

McNeilly made up three positions on the opening lap before passing Fortec Motorsport’s Ruhaan Alva for fifth.

He was soon past Harri Reynolds and the struggling Clifford before coming out on top in a battle for second with Oldfield Motorsport’s Jason Conzo before the third lap was completed.

Conzo then retired on the next lap after losing control on the exit of Cascades and hitting the armco barrier. McNeilly took the lead away from Smith at Druids later in the lap, with Reynolds following him through into second.

He then pulled clear to win ahead of the Elite driver, while Fortec’s Colin Queen came from 10th on the grid to third ahead of Josh Irfan, who passed Smith for fourth late on.

There was a frenetic battle behind that, with KMR Sport’s Tom Mills coming home sixth having made his way up from 13th and prevailing in a late scrap with Alva and Evans GP’s Cooper Webster, who faded to ninth by the finish behind Graham Brunton Racing’s Harry Burgoyne.

Clifford was 10th ahead of Kulkarni and race one winner Jeremy Fairbairn.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport 18m04.811s
2 Harri Reynolds Elite Motorsport +3.831s
3 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +4.029s
4 Josh Irfan Elite Motorsport +14.652s
5 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport +16.151s
6 Tom Mills KMR Sport +22.355s
7 Ruhaan Alva Fortec Motorsports +24.272s
8 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing +24.565s
9 Cooper Webster Evans GP +24.755s
10 Jack Clifford KMR Sport +26.686s
11 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +27.099s
12 Jeremy Fairbairn KMR Sport +30.418s
13 Dylan Hotchin Dylan Hotchin Racing +43.032s
Ret Jason Conzo Oldfield Motorsport
DNS Thomas Lee Evans GP
Fastest lap: McNeilly, 1m45.971s

Championship standings
1 Mills 81   2 McNeilly 74   3 Irfan 60   4 Fairbairn 56   5 Reynolds 54   6 Queen 43   7 Webster 43   8 Burgoyne 39   9 Kulkarni 30   10 Clifford 30