Home News Max Garcia grows USF2000 lead with third win in a row

Max Garcia grows USF2000 lead with third win in a row

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Pabst Racing’s Max Garcia continued his great start to the USF2000 season at NOLA Motorsports Park with his third win from three races.

Garcia qualified fifth for the opening race of the weekend, with Joey Brienza on pole and leading into turn one. Sam Corry pressured him later in the opening lap, and an attempt to get past at turn 10 instead compromised both and led to Garcia getting ahead by turn 12.

Evagoras Papasavvas also made a move to end the lap third, and he then got past Brienza for second at turn 10 on lap two.

Over the next eight laps, Garcia built a lead of 3.35 seconds. Papasavvas then began to close in, but only brought the gap down to 2.89s before Garcia grew it again in the final three laps to finish 3.3627s clear.

Brienza never let Papasavvas out of his sights but also never challenged him for position after lap two, and that’s because on lap three he briefly lost third place to Sam Corry but reclaimed it at turn 10. Corry dropped to sixth after that, and had to pass Max Taylor to return to the top four.

Hudson Schwartz inherited sixth place after the two drivers just ahead of him – Elliot Cox and Nicolas Giaffone – collided at turn three on the last lap while fighting, and that also lifted Ayrton Houk to a very distant seventh. Quinn Armstrong won his battle with Carson Etter over what would become eighth place.

Nico Christodoulou lost a whole lap in the pits early on, Thomas Schrage ended his race with a trip through the gravel, and Michael Costello had contact on lap six and finished the race two laps down in 17th.

Race result (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Max Garcia Pabst Racing 24m08.3397s
2 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD +3.3627s
3 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport +4.6856s
4 Sam Corry Pabst Racing +5.3514s
5 Max Taylor VRD +8.6765s
6 Hudson Schwartz Pabst Racing +10.9155s
7 Ayrton Houk DC Autosport +19.0041s
8 Quinn Armstrong DEForce Racing +21.0233s
9 Carson Etter DC Autosport +21.5537s
10 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing +24.9155s
11 Elliot Cox SFHR +28.5412s
12 Tanner DeFabis JHDD +34.2517s
13 Brady Golan DEForce Racing +41.1415s
14 Nicolas Giaffone DEForce Racing +43.4233s
15 Xavier Kokai VRD +50.8817s
16 Nico Christodoulou VRD +1 lap
17 Michael Costello JHDD +2 laps
Ret Lucas Fecury DEForce Racing
Ret Thomas Schrage Exclusive Autosport
Ret Cole Kleck VRD
Fastest lap: Garcia, 1m35.7098s

Championship standings
1 Garcia 96   2 Papasavvas 73   3 Corry 66   4 Cox 49   5 Brienza 47   6 Armstrong 41   7 Christodoulou 37   8 Houk 31   9 Schwartz 28   10 Jamieson 27